Programmers Question: Nod32 thread my code as virus

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by softtouch, Aug 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. softtouch

softtouch Registered Member

Why does the use of the functions

WriteProcessMemory
    CreateRemoteThread

trigger "Probably unknown NewHeur_PE virus"?

I am a programmer and use this functions to run my own to the main program attached exe files from memory, without saving them to disk (preventing that user just copy and use them for something else). Since the last nod32 update, I cant compile my projects any longer, if they use this 2 functions in the code.
    Thats not a virus, I am not writing a virus.

I think, nod32 believe based on this 2 functions that something weird is going on and block it.

What can I do about it? I currently do not know another way of running an exe from memory without processing "by hand" what the exe loader of windows does.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2006
  2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Hello,

please submit the program to support @ eset.com with a link to this thread provided its size is less than 3 MB. If you've created more versions of it, attach at least 2 or 3 of them.

3. softtouch

I can not submit it, because I can not compile it, cant create the exe. I could only post here the 2 lines of code which triggers nod32.

4. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Disable AMON, compile it and then submit it for analysis.

5. softtouch

There is nothing to analyse. I figured just out that if you use BOTH functions in one program, it triggers nod32. If you use one of them only, nothing happen.