program not installed after recovery

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by azpedaki, May 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. azpedaki

azpedaki Registered Member

greetings,

i am a newbie here and also to image...but fairly versed in pc stuff. my question relates to the recovery of a file folder with associated program info...seems that one of the programs i am trying to recover is not "installed" on the pc following a recovery to the original file location. i'm stumped because i did go through ahd register the dll and ocx files. files in the sys32 were also added. the problem seems to be that the program will not open an access database (mdb?) because it cannot find it, but the file itself is located in the appropriate location. i noticed that the program was not registered/installed on the pc at this point.

how do i properly recover program files so that they are functional and the pc sees them as being installed on the machine?

2. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

Are you doing a full system backup or a file and folder backup?

All programs that were installed prior to the full system backup image being made will be restored when you restore the image. However, you cannot restore programs with a file and folder backup.

Programs put files in many locations including the folders named for them, the Windows folder or subfolders and add many entries to the Registry. Therefore, you have to use a full system backup to backup programs and the operating system as well as your data.

File and folder backups will work well for data only.

Note, that when you restore a full system backup, the system is returned to the state it was in at the time the backup image was made. Any changes since that time to the drive or partition restored will be lost.

3. azpedaki

azpedaki Registered Member

Appreciate the feedback...however...

To answer the last post, i'm backing up individual program files.