ProcessGuard can i use AppDefend?

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by mantra, Feb 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    Hi
    i install processguard can i use AppDefend?
    AppDefend seems very similar processguard
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Yes you can have them side by side. Then you will enjoy the experience of answering more or less the same questions from two programs :)
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    you know i fear about crash & incompatibility ....

    but do AppDefend & Processguard make the same job?
     
  4. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    they will co exist happily - i have both installed at the moment with app defend set to disable most of the time
     
  5. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Following the advice of another poster, I added ProcessGuard back even though I have appdefend\regdefend already. All I did is disable BLOCK GLOBAL HOOKS and BLOCK REGISTRY DLL INJECTION. Appdefend\Regdefend is faster in blocking those disabled items. Also if you don't mind the double popup warnings, you can leave EXECUTION PROTECTION enabled or disable it if you want.

    By the way I would never run appdefend disabled....

    dja2k
     
  6. tonyjl

    tonyjl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    I have both too,but i haven't disabled anything in either of them... yet.
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
  8. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Yes they do, but they don't conflict and it is an extra security measure. Though you have to allow things twice and\or disable both when installing new software, but that is the price you have to pay to be safe. There is nothing wrong with a little extra security.

    dja2k
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    thanks dja2k
     
  10. tonyjl

    tonyjl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    287
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.