ProcessGuard and BoClean

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by mrgeek, Nov 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrgeek

    mrgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Installed ProcessGuard, I also have BoClean installed. Since BoClean is a memory scanner, do I need to check the box to allow any of the Boclean components access to physical memory , or am I ok leaving the boxes unchecked?
     
  2. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi mrgeek,

    These settings for BOClean are working well for me. No alerts in the PG log regarding BOClean.

    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bones

    bones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    It shows up every 5 seconds in my Alert log. How to get it not to log?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. mrgeek

    mrgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    My settings are the same, except for allowing Global Hooks. I will check that box also. Thank you.
     
  5. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    mrgeek, i am not getting that logging of boclean.. i am using the full version of pg3, not the free version.. in addition to the default settings, i have boclean set to allow global hooks and to access physical memory.. it might not be necessary to allow it access to physical memory, but i figure that it won't hurt to allow it..
     
  6. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi bones,

    I've been using PG + BOClean on two systems for over a year now and have never seen that behavior in PG logs. BOClean requires the Install Global Hooks option, otherwise you will get one blocked "global Shell hook" alert per session. I played around with settings for both apps but could not duplicate what you are seeing. Do you have termination protection enabled for BOClean (boclean.exe)? If you do, what apps have you given permission to terminate other protected apps? Also, if I terminate boclean.exe, it does not automatically restart. Do you see boclean.exe starting/stopping in Task Manager?

    Nick
     
  7. bones

    bones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Yes, termination protection is added by default. Looking through other permissions, these programs have permission to terminate other programs....... CSRSS.exe, taskmgr.exe, and winlogon.exe. BOclean has always started again immediately after manually shutting it down. I always wondered why that happened!

    So, what sould I try?

    Tnx,
    bones
     
  8. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Winlogon.exe is not given the terminate protected apps option in Learning Mode (on my systems). That would be the first thing I would look at.

    Nick
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.