Process Lasso

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by chrcol, Feb 23, 2021.

  1. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    UK
    Just found out about this, on one side it is something I would find useful, on the other it seems very feature bloated.

    I am wondering if anyone here has experience of using it and what their thoughts are.

    If I were to use it the only features I would utilise are.

    Manually configured process priorities so dont need to reapply on every launch of program.
    Automatic power profile change when system is idle, and change again when input detected.

    Process hacker can do the first, and I have another tool that does the second.

    The rest of it I have doubts about.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,911
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,975
    Automatic core assignment for processes (usefull for some older 1-core games)
    automatic core parking to decrease power consumption
    throttle/boost programs/IO/...

    Avoid probalance I would say, disabled here as it has no gain. But I use some throttling for programs were run in background or do not need much power to fulfill its tasks in background, e.g. disassembling while investigating.

    Boosting dvd-burn-programs (task priority higher/high).

    This is very little which i use from PL which is much richer. Anyhow, I own a (giveaway) pro license. From my view - worth a view, and if cheap, get a license. But don't expect "magic".
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I would advice to not use it, years ago I suspect that it made Opera 12 crash and I lost all of my browsing data. Such a tool really isn't needed.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    I've been using it for years and its' never caused any problems. I just leave it on "auto" ( ProBalance Enabled ). The developer is committed to supporting and updating it.
     
  6. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    110
    Location:
    Finland
    Its one of the best to tame core/thread based processes. Windows itself cant do that. Per core/CPU is great with this software.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,002
    It won't have been the reason for the crash, as basically all it is doing it changing the priority of running in processes.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm not so sure, it has never happened again plus Process Lasso messes around with process memory. I always got alerts from System Safety Monitor that it wanted to control of csrss.exe, which probably is not a good idea. I believe that Process Lasso is a bit more advanced than Process Tamer.
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,002
    I presume that would be just due to it changing its priority.
     
  10. JasonUK

    JasonUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    UK
    I've had Process Lasso installed for a couple of years without issue or crashes. I like its main windows which allows you to view/terminate/restart processes far more conveniently (in my view) than using task manager. I do use ProBalance which throttles an applications priority if it's being too greedy (mainly web browsers in my experience).
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,374
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I have had Process lasso on both my laptops for years, ProBalance enabled, without issue.

    But I primarily use it to monitor active processes and their CPU activity.
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, Process Tamer does the same and it didn't mess around with the csrss.exe process.

    I can't say for sure if it caused the crash, but I do know that it's quite an advanced tool that may cause issues on certain systems, perhaps it was just bad luck.
     
  13. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,310
    You can just exclude processes you don’t want the probalance feature to work on.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.