Process Lasso v9 beta

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by boredog, Mar 10, 2017.

  1. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    Yes, have been getting the betas for v9, the last couple of months. But, when I got the upgrade, yesterday evening to v9.0.0.193 beta, it did this:

    PL_dump created during v9.0.0.193 upgrade_01.JPG
     
  3. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I wonder if that is the same beta they have as a download on their site. That is the one I downloaded but have not installed yet.
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    I have had two more betas install successfully since I posted above, i.e. v9.0.0.197, and just a short time ago, v9.0.0.201.
     
  5. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    How are you liking it so far? I have not used it in a while.
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    I just have it run default mode. I don't go into the settings, because I don't want to muck around with that. I don't notice it running. ;)
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,040
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    After seeing this thread and after a quick search I've found this thread - https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...m-process-lasso-on-my-high-end-laptop.333132/ - Processes Lasso looks an interesting program. I've installed it on my lowest end machine which has been suffering from high CPU usage causing the machine to become almost unusable at times and it does seem to help with that.

    There is currently a 40% discount for licenses at the moment so a lifetime household license = AU$61.25. I might just grab me one.
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,021
    beta9 is pain. loading the update causes stepping back to v8!? x64 is loading v8 x32 as update!? wtf idiots.

    (both 9.0.0.179)

    did not try again, fail.
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,040
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  11. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    Maybe, a good omen. :)
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    I don't have a problem with getting the updates. Maybe, if you contacted Jeremy Collake, he would be able assist you.

    PL_no problem getting updates_01.JPG
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,498
    I tested it some time ago, and i noticed it too. The PC was always responsive or at least in a usuable state if processes with a high CPU-Usage were running.
     
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    I've been using v9 beta since it was released. I've not noticed any problems either running or updating. Current beta version is 9.0.0.201 :thumb:
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,040
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Done! A household lifetime license cost me about AU$50. Can't complain about that. :thumb:
     
  16. bitsum

    bitsum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Morristown TN USA
    @Tarnak- Sorry about the crash man, that's why it's beta still. Given that you later got good updates, I think that was a freak one-off I am looking for. Version 8 is very stable. Since you asked your question (I think) I now also run a Surface 4 Pro (in the family anyway). There are some unusual restrictions coming up and about regarding CPU thermal control, but I will leave that to another thread. I wrote about it's unusual limit to ONLY having the Balanced power plan (and undoes common hacks to get around that). They literally locked down the OS to Balanced so the hardware doesn't overheat.

    @Brummelchen - The self-correcting installer hasn't been perfect all the time, (I've seen cases where people delete the very information necessary to identify their OS). That is why we publish each specific bit-size and edition as well as having a self-correcting installer. If there is a problem with that installer right NOW in either branch, I am not aware of it. The temporary looping back to v8 updates was due to a complexity in having 3 update channels for a while (final, beta, and alpha). THAT was confusing. OR were you just skimming through the change log and pointing at things that I've fixed over time? (UPDATE: I see it appears you were)

    @Others: Thank you for your Support and feedback!

    As you can see, in addition to developing CPUBalance (stand-alone ProBalance) and expanding ParkControl, this is the largest major update to Process Lasso already (usually I do slow, incremental updates, but I decided to make this one a big refactor).
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,040
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    G'day @bitsum ,

    Welcome to Wilders'! It's always nice to see the dev's popping in here. Thanks for a great program, I don't know why I hadn't found it sooner. :thumb:

    Cheers from 'Down Under'.
     
  18. bitsum

    bitsum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Morristown TN USA
    Thanks @Krusty :). Tarnak is a long time user and pointed me over here.

    I try be responsive, until I get trolled, then I head back to work, lol.

    I think A LOT of you may be interested in CPUBalance, so check it out. People asked for ProBalance Stand Alone for years, so I did it, and it's gotten only a little exposure so far (about to change).
     
  19. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,392
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Decided to try PL for the first time the other day and downloaded Process Lasso Portable from Softpedia (is the portable version also available on the Bitsum site?). Liked it enough to buy a lifetime license.
    Running latest v8 but will check out this beta once I am more familiar with PL.
    As I understand it CPUBalance does not offer anything extra to v9, but with v8 it does ... can CPUBalance be run in portable mode as well?
    Thanks @bitsum!
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,498
    I couldn't find a portable version on the Bitsum-website, so i guess only Softpedia is offering a portable version.
    But i have found this:
     
  21. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,084
    I don't know about the beta but xp users cannot use version 9 (as far as I understand). A final version (which I believe is free) is being released of version 8. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,498
    @bitsum
    I'm trying out CPU Balance and Process Lasso 8.
    Now, after launching of Process Lasso 8, the following option is always removed from the .ini-file (but it is needed for CPU Balance):
    ExcludeChildrenOfActiveForeground=true
    This means, after closing of Process Lasso and launching of CPU Balance, the following ProBalance-setting is always disabled and it has to be re-enabled:
    [ ] Do not act on children of the foreground process

    CPU Balance is adding settings to the .ini, but Process Lasso is removing them.
    More detail: Process Lasso = left side, CPU-Balance = right side:
    Process_Lasso_8+CPU-Balance_Comparison.png
     
  23. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
  24. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
  25. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,622
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Note for those using v 9 Beta:

    "CPUBalance extends Process Lasso version 8 with the latest ProBalance controls and core engine available, and integrates perfectly with Process Lasso. Version 9 of Process Lasso has the SAME tech and user interface as CPUBalance, so it is not necessary there. Note that v9 is still in beta."

    https://bitsum.com/portfolio/cpubalance/
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.