Process Guard and Opera Driver/Service install

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Old Monk, Aug 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi Folks

    This may be a bit of an old chestnut.

    I recall there were a couple of old threads on this issue but no real resolution that I could see.

    I've just moved over to Opera and everytime I come out PG notifies me that Opera tried to install a driver/service which I currently block.

    Does anyone now know what this driver/service is?

    I've no reason to distrust Opera of course but I'm still curious as Firefox never asked for it.

    As I recall other members running PG and Opera didn't experience the same request so is it just an anomaly ?

    Would Opera give me the answer directly do you think?

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Hi there,

    I can't tell you what this driver/ service is, but I can assure you that every time I had upgrade to a new version of PG (I usually wipe the old version out) Opera was always asking permission for this service which I think is quite normal for its operation.

    I don't have any malware (wishful thinking) to my knowledge, and if I were you I wouldn't worry too much about it. If you want to know what really happens and why, then some real expert should intervene.
     
  3. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Thanks Osaban

    Yes, I'm sure there's no problem - just curious as to why, particularly as I say, Firefox didn't seem to need such a thing in it's normal operation. Besides, the alert from PG is a little distracting every time I close Opera.

    Also, why - and please excuse my ignorance - does the alert come when exiting Opera?

    Is it not normal for an application to try and install a driver/service when loading rather than when closing down? :doubt:
     
  4. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    I've never encountered this myself with any version of Opera (including 8.5, 9.0 and the current 9.01). What driver name does PG show in the Alerts log?
     
  5. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi P2K

    As I thought, this doesn't affect everybody. No access to machine in question so I'll try and answer your question a bit later if you'd be so kind to look out for it.

    Thank you
     
  6. TNT

    TNT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    948
    It happens to me as well. Never allowed it, never had any problem whatsoever. If you encounter no problem, just deny it.
     
  7. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    One thing to check - did you use the standard Opera installer or the "classic" one? I used the latter (wishing to avoid msiexec where possible).
     
  8. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    It happens to me, but I don't think it is malicious. So what ever Opera says it needs it gets.
     
  9. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi

    Thanks guys for your responses.

    As I say I'm not worried as much but not in this thread nor in the historic threads has anyone come up with an idea of what is actually trying to install or why?

    Like you TNT I'm denying it with no obvious impact on performance that I can see.

    P2K, to answer your earlier question the alert log says -


    08:35:06 [DRIVER/SERVICE] c:\program files\opera\opera.exe [3188] Tried to install a driver/service named

    To answer your latter question, I'm not sure what you mean - I just downloaded and installed so I guess I used the standard installer. If you could clarify '' classic'' I'll give it a whirl and see what happens
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    If you have your Opera cache set to automatically clean on exit could it somehow be tied to this action...o_O :)
     
  11. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Okay PK2, found what you mean by '' classic'' on the download area of Opera.

    Could you clarify what msiexec is and why to avoid it and do you lose any functionality in ''classic''? I note it is a smaller download.

    Thanks again.
     
  12. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Thanks for that Mongol but that option is unchecked.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  13. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Do you have a custom print driver like fineprint or pdf factory installed - if so I'd look at that
     
  14. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi Starfish

    I think that may have sorted it :blink:

    I have a Lexmark printer that loads software at start up.

    Disabled it and PG said nothing when exiting Opera. Rebooted, enabled the printer software, went into Opera and then exited and again nothing from PG

    I'll see how this goes and thanks to you for your input and to all posters on this thread :)
     
  15. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Spoke too soon :cautious:

    Doesn't seem to work - back to PG alerts

    I'll test again in the morning -perhaps too tired to sort this now.
     
  16. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I have the same problem as you - sometimes in Opera and Firefox.

    In firefox PG stops a print from working even though Fineprint is known and trusted unless firefox is allowed to the permission. Only seems to be since build 405 for me ....hence my input. ...
     
  17. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I'm using the older 3.15 version of PG and I have always needed to allow Opera the right to install drivers. I have not needed to do that for Fx. I don't recall if Opera wants to install a driver when opening or closing because I just gave it permission long ago. It is not as though I were giving IE that permission! So, I can't be of much help in figuring it out other than adding my voice to those who have said Opera needs to install a driver.

    I took the permission away and sure enough Opera wants to install a driver/service at closing.
     
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I have checked 'delete new cookies when exiting Opera'.

    And for the record I also have a Lexmark printer, but I don't think it is related to this driver service.
     
  19. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I get this demand to install a driver/service too and I don't tell Opera to delete cookies on closing. I also don't have a Lexmark. I have an old HP DeskJet printer.
     
  20. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Thanks for all your input folks.

    No it wasn't the printer software after all

    I downloaded the 'classic' install of V9.01 as PK2 mentioned and when I installed that seperately from existing version not a peep from PG.

    Opera forums aren't particularly easy reading for migrating data and e-mail from one version to another so I system restored and installed V9.01 over the existing version ( which I probably shouldn't have judging from Opera forums -but what the hecK) and all works very well............

    Except, yep you guessed it PG is back to blocking driver/service.

    I give up - it's no big deal and Opera's great and PG is great so all's well.

    If anyone does ever resolve this question - be sure and post ;)

    Thanks again
     
  21. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Opera 9 switched to using the MSI installer but offered the previous installer as the "classic option". MSIexec in my experience has a habit of changing things I don't like being changed (like recreating folders I don't want, such as My Pictures) and requires more space. This about:installer blog has a good discussion of the pros and cons of both installations.
     
  22. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Gee...I never knew there were different installers. I just install it. What is the big deal what installer is used? I like the MS installer as that is what is generally used for the applications I install and I don't understand what is wrong with it? I haven't tried to install Opera on my 98SE box though and gather I could not do so with the MS installer? So, the cause of an Opera driver trying to run at closing is because I used the MS installer? I don't understand that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.