Problems!!!!!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by MRSCT, Feb 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    My son's computer only blinks a cursor on the upper left hand side. The Internet is offline.

    I told him that I would try here for help. Any help would be greatly appreciated.;) I'll try to answer your questions.

    MRSCT
     
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi MRSCT, presuming the computer doesn't finally boot into Windows after a long time of waiting or your son has added to the machine I'd try rebuilding the boot files. If that fails a repair install. :)

    boot to recovery console fixboot or fix mbr

    or

    repair install make sure to read the whole article.

    edit. sorry I'm presuming, is this on booting the machine?
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2008
  3. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    Start computer from XP CD let it load all the drivers and it will get to a window where it will ask you if you want to install XP or repair.

    You can repair xp two ways from here.

    1 tell xp to install
    Will go to another page where it will again ask if you want to install XP pick it. It will than stop at another page where it will again ask if you want to format and install xp or to repair the copy of xp it has found. Pick repair xp will repair your xp with out losing any of your files.

    2 tell xp to repair

    repair will take you to dos prompt after you go though a couple of
    adminstrator prompt just hit return key if you don't have a password setup.

    At the C prompt type help and it will open a dir. type fixboot c: It will repair your boot files.

    Reboot
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2008
  4. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Thanks markeymoo for spelling it out simpler :oops: I should remember not everyone knows where these tools are or have even heard of them.

    @MRSCT What was happening last to the machine when your son used it.
     
  5. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    Markymoo,

    Thanks for the feed back. He doesn't have CD"S for XP, that would have been a good try.

    Meriadoc,
    I'll take a look at the article after work today. I'll write back later for more help

    MRSCT
     
  6. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    You need a XP cd sooner or later just a question of time although sometimes all the install files are in still in I386 in 'C:\Windows\Drive Cache' folder. You can access your drive from a BartPe recovery cd to get to this folder and burn these files to a cd. You then boot the cd and run winnt32.exe to install. Its a longshot and you still need the XP serial. Trouble is you need a XP cd to make a BartPe ;/
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2008
  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    An easy request Mrsct. Ask your son for the make and exact model of his pc, then forward the information. This should quickly clue us in as to the install method. If preinstalled on a recovery partition, repair will be relatively easy to direct. Include the operating system he's running too please.

    GF
     
  8. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    Compaq 3300+ Athlon +64 AMD 512 160 GB PC 3200 memory 7200 RPM Hard Drive

    Let me know what else I need.

    MRSCT
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Someone mentioned so I'll ask. This pc of your son's, a second hand purchase sold without disk's?
    If he boot's setup key combo mentioned during the initial boot screen, ask what he's got there.

    GF
     
  10. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    Ok if you can get to another pc and burn a cd then you can get the recovery console to repair your XP. Here's how to do.

    Download this file
    http://vlaurie.com/computers2/downloads/recovery_console_cd.zip

    Unpack it to the folder recovery

    Download this file from Microsoft
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=535D248D-5E10-49B5-B80C-0A0205368124&displaylang=en

    The file will be something like
    WindowsXP-KB310994-SP2-Pro-BootDisk-ENU.exe

    Rename it to Bootdisk.exe and copy it the the recovery folder

    Now run the file RecoveryCD.bat in the recovery folder and follow the instructions. You need a blank cd ready.

    Boot the newly created cd and follow the instructions in Post 3 of this thread.
     
  11. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    I appreciate all your help. He brought his computer new from Sam's Club. He is having problems with the internet. He is taking it back to a restore point. I think it started with a virus or something.
    MRSCT
     
  12. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    well if you mean taking it back from a restore point using 'system restore' then he's managed to get into windows :eek:
     
  13. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002

    In the bottom right corner a pop-up says "limited or no connectivity"
    Having problems with internet says he's offline.
    MRSCT
     
  14. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Sound's like it could be a blown stack (winsock). Wired or wireless?
    What has his isp said and what was the last thing he noticed prior to losing connectivity?

    GF
     
  15. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    If wireless, "limited or no connectivity" could simply mean the network key was entered incorrectly.
     
  16. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    Our computers are wired. I remember a few years back something about winsock. I'll look up my past threads and posts to see what it says. I need to download a current copy of windsock and put it onto a disk?
     
  17. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Good memory. Will this 'possible' fix be local, same house, he live's nearby, or were you planning to relay manual instruction's, where to go, what to delete? Did you get to ask about his isp? Any event in particular he attribute's to his internet loss, including what step's were taken afterward's, you mentioned virus?

    GF
     
  18. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    My son is working on windsock first. I think he had antivirus problems before everything went wack.

    I'll ring in again when we come to another bump in the road.

    I appreciate everyone's help so far!

    Thanks
    MRSCT:cool:
     
  19. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Is he local like, he can grab dwnld's from your computer?

    GF
     
  20. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    Yes, he lives at home. The windsock I remembered really helped. I'm remembering things when we fixed my other computer. I'll let you know if we need more help!
    Thanks,
    MRSCT
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  21. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    I would definately try antivirus and anti-spyware first. If a virus was the result of failed boot then it could still be on the pc even after system restore and i know of a few infections that stop your net.
     
  22. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    There is a utility called WinsockXPfix. Try castle cops. Otherwise i think he will have to repair windows as suggested. If you don't have an XP install disc find someone who has XP Home or XPPro & use their Disc this should be a full install disc & not a restore disc. You will probably have to put in the correct Microsoft serial so find that too.
     
  23. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    Everything is all fixed!

    Thanks to everyone for your help!

    MRSCT:D
     
  24. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    And the problem was ...................................

    GF
     
  25. MRSCT

    MRSCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Winter Olympics 2002
    When we used windsockfix and ran a scan, everything was back to normal.

    MRSCT
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.