Problems with running OSS

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by kuedde, Dec 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kuedde

    kuedde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi All
    First i have to say is that I’m from Germany so don't hit me if my English its not perfect.:)
    Hardware: ASRCOK MB Alive NF6P-VSTA with nForce 430 chipset
    Athlon x2 6000+ and a 400GB SATAII Harddisk from Samsung running in IDE mode.
    USB-Mouse PS/2 keyboard. Legacy USB is activated.

    I have installed and running True Image 2009(build 9646) DiscDiredtor10(build 2162) and OSSelector on an old pc and it works fine. Now i decided to build a new pc. So i created a recover media from TI, boot the new pc with this media and create a new primary partition (40gb ntfs) than i installed winxp prof. installing drivers and all works fine. Than I boot again from media and crate a new primary partition(20gb fat32), activate it and hide the other. On this partition i installed win2000k prof. and drivers and this works fine too. now I create with my boot media again a new primary partition (120gb ntfs) activate it and hide the others and install vista business64 on this and this will work fine too.
    Now i switch, with DD form rescue media, the hide and activ flags of partitions and all work fine and all OS see only its own partition. After this i start XP and installed the DD10 (complete for all users), after restarting the pc i installed the OSS choosing typical installation and the pc requires a reboot at this reboot the OSS DOS starts and shows me the installed OS WINXP, WIN2K and VISTA with strange settings.
    WINXP settings looking fine.
    VISTA has an active partition which is hidden and as language is english selected but i think thats a problem from VISTA64.
    Cause I could not switch the hidden property, i delete this OS and search for a new OS in this partition, make it bootable and visible and hide the others and OSS finds Vista and all settings are correct except the language settings for this OS.
    WIN2K properties looks good except that the other partitions are setting not hidden so i hide the other partitions for this OS.
    I deactivate loading cd drivers at start and set input devices to USB-PS2.

    During these operations the pc looks like being freeze for a few seconds up to one minute you can move the mouse but no reaction if you click on a button, sometimes it is freeze and it doesn’t react on everything.
    After boot up to XP i start OSS and select VISTA to boot and after booting VISTA, i installed DD on Vista with the repair option for OSS after a reboot i start WIN2K on VISTA’S OSS and installed DD on WIN2K with the same option for OSS.
    Now as I start OSS in WIN2K an error appears “Fehler beim Schreiben von Sektor 20.721.223 auf Datenträger 1“ “Error writing on sector xx.xxx.xxx on HDD 1” or so in english, with the buttons retry, ignore, ignore all, and cancel.
    If you hit ignore, you can hit it more than 100 times with several number of sectors, the first sector number is not always the same but only the last triple changes .235 or .255, than the OSS starts.
    If you hit ignore all the program starts directly. After i choose VISTA to boot sometimes the error message appear again and after hitting “ignore all” the pc shut down and starts again but stop in OSS DOS and wait for input. I choose VISTA and it starts after arriving VISTA i start the OSS and choose XP to boot, the system shuts down and start with XP without waiting.

    My question now is what i had to do to let the OSS in WIN2K work like the OSS in the other versions?

    The other problem is that the OSS at start is very slow. After I shot down the pc and start it, it takes 15sec after the BIOS Posts that the line “ACRONIS loader wird gestartet” appears and another 5 sec until the Menu appears and than if you not reacting quickly the pc seems to be freeze and sometime it freezes complete so u had to push the reset button.

    Thnx K
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Welcome to the forum.

    At this point, did the Win2K installation see the other hidden OS partitions? It's hard to hide partitions from Win2K. Sometimes it's best to just unassign drive letters so the partitions are not available.

    This is a known bug with OSS. If a Windows partition is hidden when OSS does the detection, it leaves the partition marked hidden. This results in an Active/Hidden partition which you can't change in OSS. The normal fix is to do a manual edit in the BOOTWIZ.OSS file.

    Are you using the normal Hide checkboxes or the Force Hiding option? You have to be careful with the Force option because if something goes wrong, the partitions can get messed up.

    If you turn off Legacy USB support in the BIOS, does the problem go away (you'll probably lose mouse support)?

    Is the keyboard also unresponsive during the freezes?

    Do you have any other drives connected to the computer? This includes any media card readers, floppy drives, external drives, iPODs, etc.

    Is TI 2009 also installed in the Win2K OS? If so, was TI 2009 installed before or after DD?

    It sounds like OSS is having a hard time working correctly with the computer's hardware or the BIOS. Is there any disk activity during the 15 seconds?

    Have you tried using a PS/2 type mouse or no mouse (as a test)?
     
  3. kuedde

    kuedde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    thank you for answering

    If i start the explorer the partitions are not seen.

    i think i use both. if your check box "force hiding" is the final point of properties "erweitert" in german "advanced" in english i think. as i switch off these. the system does not start with message "ntoskrnl.exe not found".

    I have tested it with a PS/2 mouse and it also freeze. There no reactions on keyboard actions too but if the system comes back he make all the moves I make with the keyboard.

    TI is not installed on any OS.
    The system has no floppy and no card reader. I have not even used an USB-Stick until i have installed DD+OSS.

    yes. at the beginning the LED of the DVD is on than off. than the LED from hdd blinks 6 or 7 times short with longer breaks but looks not like normal activity no noises from disk and if the message "acronis loader.." appears its looks like normal activity on hdd.

    PS/2 : yes see above
    no mouse : no
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2008
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    You may need to contact Acronis Support and see if they can provide you with a build of DD/OSS that will work correctly with your computer. Live Chat may be the quickest method. Otherwise, log into your Acronis account and submit a support request.

    I've seen the "delay on starting" problem where the hard drive is accessed over and over for a period of time (varies from system to system), but in my case, once OSS loaded it worked okay (this was an older computer).

    Are you running your SATA drives in IDE mode for a reason? Have you tried using a different mode (AHCI, for example)? Note that if you switch modes, each OS may need different drivers. You can test OSS, though, by switching the mode and just booting to OSS and not starting any OS.

    For the Win2K problem with the drive errors, you may need updated snapapi drivers. Support should be able to provide those for you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.