Problems with macrium Reflect Free V5

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by fouriron, Sep 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fouriron

    fouriron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I have four drives.
    Drive 1 has 3 partitions Empty 59G, Programs 50G, Games 50G
    Drive 2 has 1 partition Windows boot 59G
    All partition are primary and the first partition on drive 1 and 2 are active.
    Drive 3 and 4 are data and media.

    I made a backup of my windows boot on drive 2 and restored it to the empty partition on drive 1. No errors. When I selected drive 1 in my bios to boot from, it booted but could not find any programs and my windows configurations were all screwed up. Upon look at drive letter assignments, I noticed that my original windows partition was still C and the new partition I booted from was G. Of course I could not change the designations. Doing the same thing using true image worked fine.

    Since I am running Reflect free, I cannot post in the Macrium forums. I am hoping for some help from here.

    Len
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Len,

    It can be fixed without having to redo the clone.
     
  4. fouriron

    fouriron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Thanks for the Pointer Brian. Its funny, but when I created an image of my Win7 on disk 2 part 1 using Acronis true image and restored the image to the empty partition on Disk 1 part 1 all the drive letters were fine and the new boot partition showed up as C. Go figure.

    Len
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Len,

    Maybe Acronis TI adjusts the MountedDevices key to get around the cloning rules. I know the TeraByte apps can do this. Ghost doesn't.

    Have you been able to fix the drive letter assignment? I have a few extra fixes if Method 2 is impractical (no floppy drive).
     
  6. fouriron

    fouriron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    No, I just used True Image and left it at that. I was testing reflect free, but my modus-operendi is to have two OSes installed. my go-to system on part1 of disk1 and my evolving (or new technology) system on part1 of disk2. and i switch by bios selection When the evolving one is ready for prime time, I move it to disk1. So modding the registry is not something I want to do on an ongoing basis. I'll stick with TI for now. But thanks for the help.

    Len
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.