Problems with F-Prot for DOS

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by abhi_mittal, Mar 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Hi,
    I downloaded the free F-prot for DOS on-demand scanner. When I ran the program, it said that I have to run it with a /NoFLoppy command line. This was because I dont have a floppy drive on my laptop. o_O

    What can I do to set the problem riight? I want to use this product as I heard its a good backup scanner.

    Help will be appreciated,

    Abhishek
     
  2. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Abhishek,

    Do you have a floppy on your laptop? If not, just use the command line switch as indicated. I don't have F-Prot for DOS on my system, but I assume that you would enter (minus the quotation marks) "f-prot /NOFLOPPY" instead of "f-prot" in the MS-DOS window.

    Blue
     
  3. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I do not have a floppy drive.I am simply unable to get it working. When I click on the main .exe file, I get that message.

    Can you give me detailed instructions on how to use it?

    Sorry for the trouble

    Regards,
    Abhishek
     
  4. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Abhishek,

    The easiest thing to do is probably just create a shortcut and edit that command line.

    If you already have a shortcut on your desktop, ignore the next step

    Launch Explorer. Navigate to the directory where you've placed F-Prot, if you haven't placed it in its own folder yet, please do so. An example would be C:\Program Files\F-Prot. Copy all the files that were contained in the zip file to this location if you've just created this location.

    Right-click and drag F-Prot.exe to the Desktop. When you release the mouse button, select Create Shortcut Here. This should create a DOS shortcut on you Desktop entitled Shortcut to F-Prot. I usually edit out the "Shortcut to".

    Right-click the Shortcut icon and select Properties. Select the Program tab. In the box entitled Cmd line, add /NOFLOPPY after fullpath\F-PROT.EXE where fullpath is whatever pathname is used on your machine. Make sure there is a space between these two pieces of text. Select OK.

    That should be it. Double click on the icon and see if it works.

    Blue
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Take a look here;
    http://qqsoftware.xs4all.nl/fprot/F-PROT.htm
    http://www.claymania.com/rate-fprot.html

    However, this DOS scanner was primarily designed for non-NT systems.

    Therefore, if you are using WIN2000/XP you may need to go to http://www.sysinternals.com. Here, they offer a free tool which allows access to NTFS files from MS DOS.

    Command-line switches here; http://www.claymania.com/COMMAND.TXT

    Hopefully, Blue's instructions will work.

    If not, you may however, find 'easier' to set-up back-up AV scanners. BitDefender?

    Also consider only using one of the on-line AV scanners as your back-up and layer your Avast AV with a free on-demand AT scanner.
     
  6. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    BlackCat,

    Thanks for your suggestions. I am contemplating Bitdefender Free as my backup scanner.

    You mentioned free Anti-Trojan software. Can you name some for me?
    I know of A2 and Ewido. Which is the better one?

    Regards,
    Abhishek
     
  7. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Abhishek,

    You can get a sense of what's available and used by a number of folks here.

    Blue
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Did you manage to get F-Prot to work for you with Blue's instructions. Your response may help other members in the future. Yes, BitDefender is supposed to be a very good back-up scanner ;)
    I use both. At the present time, I would say Ewido is the better, polished product of the two. But since they are both free why not download and install both and see which one you prefer.
     
  9. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Nope, I couldnt get the F-prot working with Blue's Instructions. I thus decided to go for Bitdefender free which is pretty easy to handle.

    Thanks for the advice on AT.

    You have been a great help this evening.

    Warmest Regards,
    Abhishek
     
  10. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Thanks for reporting back, Abhishek.

    Hope everything goes well.
     
  11. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Strange. Just to satisfy my curiousity, I downloaded F-Prot/DOS and went through the steps. No problem and it's on an NTFS volume on XP/SP2. Don't think I missed any steps.

    Blue
     
  12. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Hmmmmmmm,

    Maybe Abhishek did not follow all your steps or he moved swiftly on to BitDefender :D

    But Blue, if F-Prot does scan on the NTFS volume, does it appear to scan as many files as it should?
     
  13. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Good question Blackcat, I just started it up and then cut it off. Quick answer - no, not by any stretch of the imagination. Doesn't seem to be a real rhyme or reason to it either.

    An appropriate free or on-line scanner option is clearly the best course of action.

    Blue
     
  14. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.