Problems with external hdd (external case + hdd via usb2.0), too...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hit123, Feb 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hit123

    hit123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I want to load a image from an external usb hdd. But each time I try this I got the error message:

    "usb device not accepting new address 2 (error=-71)"
    "usb device not accepting new address 3 (error=-71)"

    I tried the tip with the "F11" key and the command "acpi=off noapic", but the problem wasn't solved; there was the same error! I tried it on another PC without any problem (mainboard Asus P4P800SE)?! The boot cd was made with (german) True Image 7 v638 and the mainboard is an Asus P4B533 and an external case (Mapower MAP-HD31U2G with an Seagate 6,5Gb hard drive with one NTFS-partition). What can I do? o_O
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hit123,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

    We regret to inform you that we do not support Acronis True Image 7.0 any more. You may download free trial version of Acronis True Image 8.0 from our site http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/trueimage/ and see whether the problem persists. If it works well you may purchase the upgrade to Acronis True Image 8.0 at our on-line store http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/sales/upgrade/

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. hit123

    hit123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for your answer!
    Now I tried the version 8 of True Image, but the problem still exists! If I reduce the speed of the usb port to 1.1 the hdd is found (but usb 1.1 is too slow; it needs more than 2 hours to copy an image from usb hdd to hdd!)?! Is there a possibility to run the external harddisk with usb 2.0 high speed?
     
  4. WWS

    WWS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    249
    After updating to build 796 I got that message, too.
    I was testing a new boot disc (make a new one every build) when it happened.
    I just sat back for a minute and then it proceeded to boot into ATI. Tried it a couple of times and a minute after getting that message it proceeded to boot.
    It never happened on previous builds.
    The only difference was I had just hooked up a new external USB drive with 3 partitions. The drive was plugged into the USB port but its power was off.
    This is the only problem I've ever had with ATI..minor nuisance.
    Try waiting a minute..see what happens.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hit123 and WWS,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    This problem in the latest 796 build of Acronis True Image 8.0 is known and will be fixed in the next build. If you wait a little bit Acronis True Image should boot normally and see your USB drive. If it doesn't, please send a letter with the description of the problem to support@acronis.com. We will certainly help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.