Problems updating latest engine

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by craigj, Apr 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. craigj

    craigj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I have re-installed Nod32 on my laptop. When I go to Update to install the latest signatures etc. the first file it tries to download is engine0.nup (6476 KB). It downloads the 6476 KB file but then it starts downloading it again and again etc. Any ideas? :blink:
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi !

    Make sure you remove all temporary files from that computer by running Windows Disk Clean up from
    Start->Programs->Accessories->System Tools->Disk Cleanup . Check all from the list and confirm with OK .
    http://pandaman.my.contact.bg/dcu.PNG


    1) Download a fresh copy of NOD32 v 2.7 for your correct operating system
    Trial version
    Full paid version

    2) Goto Control Panel-> Add/Remove programs and Uninstall NOD32

    3) Reboot

    4) Goto C:\Program files and manually delete the folder ESET

    5) Install NOD32 from the file you just downloaded in step 1
    Use Typical settings . Use default settings for everything , change nothing.

    6) Make sure you have stable i-net connection and NOD32 (nod32krn.exe) is allowed to go through your firewall and Update NOD
     
  3. craigj

    craigj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks. Tried it and still no go. I'm thinking the problem is with my laptop and thinking of re-formating the hard disk. :thumbd:
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi craigj, welcome to Wilders.

    Please check that the following files exist:

    C Drive> Windows> Temp

    C Drive> Documents and Settings> (User Name) XXXXXX> Local Settings> Temp

    Do the "Temp and TMP" folders exist in "Environmental Variables" when you right click on My Computer as per the screenshots found in this link? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=764434#post764434

    When you then navigate to the folders mentioned in "Environmental Variables" are they actually there?

    Sometimes the only method is to delete and reinstall the Temp folders.

    You can also try running this file http://www.nod32.it/getfile.php?tool=settmp it will set both the user and system TEMP/TMP variables to c:\windows\temp. Just make sure the folder exists.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. craigj

    craigj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I have tried deleting and reinstalling the TEMP files and still no joy. Any other things to try?
     
  6. GhostMan

    GhostMan Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Hi

    maybe fresh update can help. Delete content (not folder itself) of c:\program files\eset\updfiles\
    and in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Eset\Nod\CurrentVersion\InstalledComponents
    set EngineBuild to zero. After this, try to update again.
     
  7. teampump88

    teampump88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Do you have any parental control software such as CyberSitter installed?
     
  8. craigj

    craigj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Yes, have Cybersitter installed on this laptop. However, we also have Cybersitter installed on another desktop computer here at home which also has Nod32 on it and it works fine. Nod32 was also working OK in the past but one day suddenly wouldn't update.
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Did you run the tool mention in my link above?

    Cheers :D
     
  10. craigj

    craigj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Yes, I have tried everything suggested so far. I have noticed that the download gets to about 5700kb out of the 6700KB download then it goes back to the beginning and starts again..
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Are you on a Dialup connection?

    Cheers :D
     
  12. craigj

    craigj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    no. broadband. ADSL2.
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Try the following:

    * From the Start menu, select Run.
    * In the Open field, type sfc /scannow (Note: There is a space between sfc and /scannow)
    * Select the OK button.
    * Follow the prompts throughout the System File Checker process.
    * Reboot the computer when System File Checker completes.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  14. teampump88

    teampump88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Try these settings...

    - Click on the icon in the taskbar to open up CyberSitter. Enter in the password when prompted.

    - Click on the 'User Files' button on the left to open up the 'Customer Sites' dialog box.

    - Click on the 'Always Allowable Sites' tab top open up the always allowed site list.

    - Enter in the following addresses into the list. Make sure each address is on it's own line.

    * *.eset.com
    * 89.202.157.*


    - After you click 'Ok', you will receive a prompt that tells you that you will need to restart the computer for the changes to take effect. Click 'Ok' and restart the computer.

    - Test the update again once the computer has rebooted.
     
  15. craigj

    craigj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    :D :D :D :D Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it worked. The problem must have been with Cybersitter. Update succesful. Strange though coz my other computer has Nod and Cybersitter but is still updating OK. Thankyou to all who have helped me to solve this problem. Much appreciated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.