Problems Uninstalling

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Intellibind, Mar 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Intellibind

    Intellibind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    I have a workstation that is showing the orange system tray icon indicating the AV is not running. I cannot seem to start the service, and when I attempt to remove from start>programs>eset>uninstall I receive the following error.

    "This action is only valid for products that are currently installed"

    NOD does not show up in add/remvoe programs either, but it's clearly installed because I can open the advanced configuration and make changes. I just can get the AV to start.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
  3. Intellibind

    Intellibind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    I ran the cleanup utility but NOD32 did not show up as an option so I could not select it.
     
  4. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    What happens if you run the installer again (same version) and try first a repair and then, failing that, a manual uninstall > fresh install?

    philby
     
  5. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    The OP should run the manual uninstaller, then attempt a fresh install.

    Regards,
     
  6. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hi siljaline

    Just for understanding, why is it that a repair wouldn't be worth a shot first in this case?

    Thanks

    philby
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Cheers, philby

    Based on what the OP is describing I would suggest a manual uninstall to wipe the complete installation since some of the services have stopped.
    A repair may or may not do the same.

    Regards,

     
  8. Intellibind

    Intellibind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Well, I tried repair and that did not work. It told me I did not have permissions to modify some registry key. (odd since I'm a local and domain admin).

    I ran the manual uninstallation, rebooted, and I could still see ESET in my programs list.

    I went ahead and ran teh installation again just for the heck of it, and everything appears to have installed correctly this time.

    Thanks all for the help!!
     
  9. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Good that it's sorted...

    Thanks for clarifying siljaline.

    philby
     
  10. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Cheers, glad that it is sorted as well. Thanks for the assist, as well.
    More heads always the better :thumb:

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.