Problems to recover computer

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by bera, Nov 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bera

    bera Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Hi
    I'm not sure if this proper forum to ask but I have to try.

    I'm newbe with Norton Ghost 14. I made sometime ago backups of my harddrives. Now, something happened with my system and almost everything doesn't work well. I would like to restore my computer from my backup but I cannot create Recovery Disk. When I try in Ghost to create I"m getting very strange window

    http://h.imagehost.org/0367/1_58.jpg

    and I cannot create recovery disk.
    I found Symantec Recovery Disk ISO and I burned it but when I tried to boot from this disk I"ve got message:
    The file is possibly corrupt. The file header checksum does not match the corrupted checksum.
    Please, someone help me to solve this problem. My Windows is getting worse and worse.
    P.S.
    My OS is Windows Vista Ultimate x64
    Could someone help me to solve this problem. My Windows is getting worse and worse. :'(
    P.S.
    My OS is Windows Vista Ultimate x64
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  2. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    The best I can remember, ghost has an option in the main gui that will allow you to modify your bootloader so that you will have the option to boot into the ghost recovery environment at boot up. If you can still open and use the program then try that. I can't remember what it is called but it had the option in it. Look at the ghost pdf user manual. If that will not work then you may have to reinstall. Next time make your recovery cd asap, and install that bootloader.
     
  3. bera

    bera Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I tried in Windows open Norton Ghost Disk and I press Run Driver Validation

    http://h.imagehost.org/0880/2_3.jpg

    I don't now if this thing has any meaning but I put hear maybe helps to see what's wrong:(
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  4. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2009
  5. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    Look at page 148-149
     

    Attached Files:

  6. bera

    bera Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I don't have this option .:doubt:
     
  7. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    Have you activated Norton ghost?
     
  8. bera

    bera Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Hi Guys
    Yes first I did activate but something went wrong and it was activated but was kind recognized as not. It sounds strange but it was this way. I reinstalled it and I used in the end my friend Symantec Recovery Disk and I got in.
    Thanks for your response. I fixed everything. I made backup of my computer.
    Still I'm not sure what was a problem, why it happened.
    Thanks one more time
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.