Problems restoring image of hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sammy12345, Dec 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sammy12345

    sammy12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    I have not bought the Acronis True Image 10 Home product yet, I thought I should give the demo version a try first. I have been having problems restoring an image of my hard drive. I looked on your forums and did not see anything that relates to the problem I am experiencing. When I try to restore the image of my hard drive from my 2nd SATA drive it freezes every time in the DOS window. I have attached an image I took of the screen, I hope this helps. If someone at your support department can explain how to fix the problem I would be happy to buy your product. As I really like the interface, features and the way the software is designed.

    My system specs:
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe Socket 775 Motherboard
    2 GB RAM
    ATI X1900 All-In-Wonder
    320 Seagate Hard drive (SATA) (Main Drive)
    250 Maxtor Hard Drive (SATA) (Storage Only)
    LG DVD-RAM 16X
    All-In-One USB 2.0 Card Reader
    Windows XP SP 2 (current updates completed)

    Cheers and thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GroomLake

    GroomLake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    If I remember the trial version will not do restores.
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    You have a faulty memory.

    Xpilot
     
  4. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Sammy,

    Search this forum for Core Duo. There were some complaints but I can't remember what was the outcome.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Sammy,

    I get a very similar screen on my ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi board. You'll probably have to run the "safe" version of TI. I'm not sure exactly how you do that from windows (or if it's even possible), as the rescue cd for the trial version won't restore. Also, if the P5W is like the P5B then you'll still be able to use an external usb drive in safe mode if you want to.

    You could make a rescue cd and boot into the safe mode version and at least see if it starts correctly and recognizes your drives.
     
  6. sammy12345

    sammy12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you for the input, :)

    Acronis support was able to fix the problem by suggesting to use the Acronis boot disk and I was able to restore my image.

    cheers
    Sam
     
  7. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes, to avoid problems it is ALWAYS better to use the bootable Rescue CD. I'm surprised you got a response so quickly.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.