Problems after updating SpywareBlaster 3.2!

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by GelbesMonster, Jan 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. When I install the program it runs without problems, but after updating the database i get this message: "Database Error - The Spywareblaster database may be corrupted or missing. Click on the link below to run Check for Updates and download the latest database."
    But the download was the beginning of my problems! What should I do?
    Thanks Martin
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. I´m using E-trust Antivirus 7.0.141 (it´s running always in the background), and sometimes Ad-Aware SE Personal 1.05. My firewall is Zone Alarm Pro 5.1.033.
     
  4. Ahh, I was after manual updates too.

    Are the manual update URLs actually for SpywareBlaster 3.2? The URL shows 31 in there, which I take to mean it's for version 3.1, so just verifying?

    Also it would be cool to have the manual updates option as a question in the online KnowledgeBase so it's easy to find.
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Yep - those URLs still apply for SpywareBlaster 3.2 :)

    An entirely new knowledgebase is on the way, with answers to that question and hundreds more. :cool:

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  6. good info, thanks for the response :)
     
  7. Thanks for your tips, but after manual updating i have the same error like before!
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    What version of Windows are you running?

    Also, are you running any sort of add-blocking or proxy programs? Those could be interfering with the download.

    Thanks in advance,

    -Javacool
     
  9. I use GhostSurf Pro 2.0 and ZoneAlarm Pro 5.1.033.000
     
  10. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Could you please try the following?

    1.) Open SpywareBlaster
    2.) Click on the "Updates" tab.
    3.) Click on "Options" near the top of the updates area of the program.
    4.) Select "Use a direct connection to the Internet"
    5.) Close SpywareBlaster.
    6.) Re-open the program and try updating again.

    And let me know if that helps. Thanks! :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  11. rlindau

    rlindau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I was having the same problem - but the direct connection you suggested above did indeed work for me. FWIW, things I had done between the time I did the last successful update and now were (1) install Ghostsurf 2005 and (2) install the Micro$oft Antispy Beta. I think the problem was caused by the former. Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.