Problem with Webshield (AVG 8.0)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by robinb, Mar 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    I installed yesterday the AVG 8.0 antispyware with avg antivirus Pro on Vista Home Premium using Vista Firewall
    Before i installed AVG 8.0 (the antispyware version) I had to install the kb929547 patch from microsoft.
    After the install everything seemed to work ok.

    Today I started the computer and it showed that i am connected to the internet but I could not go anywhere. I disabled webshield and that is how I am typing this.

    Enable Webshield- same problem


    Any suggestions on how to fix this?

    robin
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,091
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Try reinstalling AVG. Seems like the driver had a bad hook somewhere due to the Windows patch.
     
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Fixed with AVG March 18th release :shifty:
     
  4. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    will let you know
    I just reinstalled the 87 built (uninstalled the 86 because I had reinstalled it and unchecked webshield)
    and checked webshield
    so far I can connect to the internet after a reboot
    But last time it was working for a while then started this action so I will let you know as time goes by

    robin
     
  5. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    Yes I can safely say now webshield has been fixed in the 87 version.

    robin
     
  6. Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    Yes. I'm really liking the new AVG8 after these updates.
     
  7. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,313
    Location:
    Earth
    Just need a fix so if u dont want link scanner installed or active the whole icon in taskbar doesnt have a ! on it.. :D
    Also im using msn 9 messenger and when i use webshield i notice i get an A in my name in messenger bizzare..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.