Problem with Webshield (AVG 8.0)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by robinb, Mar 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    I installed yesterday the AVG 8.0 antispyware with avg antivirus Pro on Vista Home Premium using Vista Firewall
    Before i installed AVG 8.0 (the antispyware version) I had to install the kb929547 patch from microsoft.
    After the install everything seemed to work ok.

    Today I started the computer and it showed that i am connected to the internet but I could not go anywhere. I disabled webshield and that is how I am typing this.

    Enable Webshield- same problem


    Any suggestions on how to fix this?

    robin
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Try reinstalling AVG. Seems like the driver had a bad hook somewhere due to the Windows patch.
     
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Fixed with AVG March 18th release :shifty:
     
  4. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    will let you know
    I just reinstalled the 87 built (uninstalled the 86 because I had reinstalled it and unchecked webshield)
    and checked webshield
    so far I can connect to the internet after a reboot
    But last time it was working for a while then started this action so I will let you know as time goes by

    robin
     
  5. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    Yes I can safely say now webshield has been fixed in the 87 version.

    robin
     
  6. Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    Yes. I'm really liking the new AVG8 after these updates.
     
  7. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Just need a fix so if u dont want link scanner installed or active the whole icon in taskbar doesnt have a ! on it.. :D
    Also im using msn 9 messenger and when i use webshield i notice i get an A in my name in messenger bizzare..
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.