Problem with Webroot's Firewall?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by GreekGuy, Feb 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GreekGuy

    GreekGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    As you can see on the attached screenshot, I've blocked "chrome.exe" with Webroot's firewall, yet Google Chrome is still able to connect to the internet.

    What am I doing wrong? Can I block Chrome from accessing the internet?

    Chrome Not Blocked.png
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,029
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I can confirm that Chrome still connects but IE10, FF 27.0.1 & Opera 12.16 can not as they are all blocked. We will see what Joe has to say when he drops by!

    Thanks,

    TH

    2014-02-22_14-25-26.png

    2014-02-22_14-27-59.png
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm not sure what would be causing this but will definitely investigate closer.

    Thanks!
     
  4. GreekGuy

    GreekGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    Any updates about why Chrome isn't being blocked by Webroot's firewall??
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,995
    Location:
    UK
    In Chrome settings..advanced settings.. try unticking "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,029
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Stapp I just tried and it still connects to the Web!

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you try disabling the WSA filtering extensions (in a non-alpha build)? It could be caused by us allowing our own modules outbound.

    Thanks!
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,029
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Joe I disabled Extension and still connects. Would I need to reboot?

    Daniel

    2014-02-28_15-53-49.png
     
  9. GreekGuy

    GreekGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    Just checked and noticed that Chrome still bypasses the firewall on v8.0.4.68.

    It seems to be a Chrome-only flaw as the firewall properly blocks both Firefox and IE.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.