Problem with Webroot's Firewall?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by GreekGuy, Feb 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GreekGuy

    GreekGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    As you can see on the attached screenshot, I've blocked "chrome.exe" with Webroot's firewall, yet Google Chrome is still able to connect to the internet.

    What am I doing wrong? Can I block Chrome from accessing the internet?

    Chrome Not Blocked.png
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I can confirm that Chrome still connects but IE10, FF 27.0.1 & Opera 12.16 can not as they are all blocked. We will see what Joe has to say when he drops by!

    Thanks,

    TH

    2014-02-22_14-25-26.png

    2014-02-22_14-27-59.png
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm not sure what would be causing this but will definitely investigate closer.

    Thanks!
     
  4. GreekGuy

    GreekGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    Any updates about why Chrome isn't being blocked by Webroot's firewall??
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,303
    Location:
    England
    In Chrome settings..advanced settings.. try unticking "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Stapp I just tried and it still connects to the Web!

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you try disabling the WSA filtering extensions (in a non-alpha build)? It could be caused by us allowing our own modules outbound.

    Thanks!
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Joe I disabled Extension and still connects. Would I need to reboot?

    Daniel

    2014-02-28_15-53-49.png
     
  9. GreekGuy

    GreekGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    Just checked and noticed that Chrome still bypasses the firewall on v8.0.4.68.

    It seems to be a Chrome-only flaw as the firewall properly blocks both Firefox and IE.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.