Problem with Webroot SecureAnywhere and Firefox

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Clayton12345, Dec 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clayton12345

    Clayton12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Has anyone had a problem with Firefox freezing while using Webroot SecureAnywhere? Since installing the new Webroot software, Firefox will consistently freeze--especially when doing a Google search. Conversely, my IE browser seems unaffected.

    Is there a fix for this problem?

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please supply system configuration OS 32 or 64bit and any other security software you might be using and also version of Firefox with extensions?

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  3. Clayton12345

    Clayton12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    I am using a 64-bit operating system, running Windows Vista;

    Firfox Version 8 with the following plugins:
    Adobe Acrobat: 9.0.0.332
    Itunes App Dectector 1.01.1
    Microsoft Windows Media Player Firefox Plugin 1.0.0.8
    QuickTime Plug-in 7.7.1 7.7.1.0
    Shockwave Flash 11.0.1.152
    Silverlight Plugin 4.0.60831.0
    Windows Presentation Foundation 3.5.30729.1
    Google Talk Plugin (DISABLED)
    Google Talk Plugin Video Accelerator (DISABLED)
    Google Update 1.3.21.79 (DISABLED)

    I am also running Microsoft Security Essentials Version: 2.1.1116.0

    Thanks!
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know if you're using the 32bit version of Firefox or the native 64bit version?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Clayton12345

    Clayton12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    I'm pretty sure I am using the 32bit version of Firefox (I didn't think a 64bit Windows version had been broadly released).
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    First can you uninstall WSA reboot and reinstall and leave it at the default settings to see if that helps?

    TH
     
  7. Clayton12345

    Clayton12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Interestingly, I installed the 64bit Firefox browser and an updated version of Flash and the freezing problem seems to have been fixed. I suspect that the older Flash plugin was the source of the problem.
     
  8. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    I have noticed an issue where I go to type in a password and Webroot's monitoring of FF causes a lag. I put my password in wrong 10 times and looked at what I was typing and saw it was lagging. Turned off WSA and that stopped.

    Odd.
     
  9. CGuard

    CGuard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    I 'm also facing a WSA-FF conflict (?).

    Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit + WSAC 8.0.1.173 + FF 12, here.


    After installing WSA (default settings) and launching FF, i get the (expected) FF tab asking me if i allow the installation of webroot bar. I check "allow" and click continue and... my system freezes up. Completely.

    It is happening every time -well, at least the four times that i had to restore a fresh system image.

    Any ideas?
     
  10. CGuard

    CGuard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    SOME PROGRESS...

    On my (relatively) fresh system image (Shadow Defender, Hitman Pro, MBAM, installed but used on-demand --- FF installed and IE disabled), i chose to close the FF tab that was asking me to approve WRBar's installation and, instead, i enabled the bar from the "Add-ons" section. FF restarted as it was supposed to, and then... BSOD and automatic system reboot.

    After choosing to "restart Windows normally", i ran BlueScreenView, according to which, diskpt.sys (Shadow Defender's driver) caused the system crash -something about BAD POOL CALLER.

    I have no idea how WSA, FF and SD interacted and caused the system crash, but what i do know is that, (temporarily) unistalling SD, after restoring the same (relatively) fresh system image, permitted WRBar to install fine in FF. :blink:

    AND SOME MORE PROBLEMS...

    Finally, after WRBar was added-on FF, i started to play around just to see if there was any unwanted system behavior. Browsing in Shadow Mode, rebooting, browsing in Normal Mode, closing and re-launching FF etc. Unfortunately, again i got a freezed system (while typing in FF's Google Search Box) and a BSOD (while surfing --- BlueScreenView indicates SD as the "suspect", again --- something about BAD POOL HEADER), at two different and random time points.

    I don't know if it's a WSA-FF or a WSA-SD conflict. What i do know is that FF-SD never "complained" about working together...
     
  11. CGuard

    CGuard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    Ok, definitely a WSA-FF problem. On a completely fresh system (only WSA .177 and FF 12 installed), while web-browsing, my system freezes up. Only solution is to disable the Identity Shield... but that's not why i bought WSA for...

    I would appreciate some help, here.
     
  12. CGuard

    CGuard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    That didn't work either. Ok, this is really frustrating...

    So i guess WSA doesn't really support FF.
     
  13. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    If it was simply a FF/WSA conflict you would have thousands howling complaints. It can't be that simple.
    What extensions/add-ons/theme/skin etc are you using with Firefox?
    Do you have any other security-type software installed?

    Remember, it's the weekend/Bank Holiday, and they will certainly identify the issue before long.
     
  14. CGuard

    CGuard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    Thanks for responding, Dermot7

    That's what puzzles me. I mean, Google/WRCommunity/MozillaSupport-searching does return some incompatibility issues between WSA and FF related with the WRBar, but not on a large scale.

    In my last (final) attempt, ONLY WSA .173 and FF 12 are installed on a completely fresh Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit system image. No FF add-ons/extensions/themes, no customized WSA settings. Everything is at its default settings.

    The only thing i can think of, is to try an outdated version of FF. Maybe its a FF 12 fault. But, certainly, that's not the way to resolve conflicts...

    PS. I know it's a long shot, but is it possible that my hardware-based DEP is interfering with WSA?
     
  15. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Well I don't know for sure, but I once had a problem with DEP and WSA on a particular laptop, and could never get round it....maybe?
    It's best if you wait for Triple Helix or PrevxHelp, or someone who knows more than me, and they will identify the issue for sure :)
     
  16. CGuard

    CGuard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    I switched DEP to "essential Windows programs and services only" --> same problem

    I uninstalled WSA and FF 12 and installed (in the following order) FF 11 and WSA --> same problem

    I can't think of anything else.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  18. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    192
    Try the Extended Support Release/ESR version which is at 10.0.4 right now. http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/organizations/all.html

    I am using Firefox 10.4 ESR on windows 7 32 bit with the latest WSA Essentials, and everything is ok so far. Using all default WSA settings.
     
  19. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Does this still happen if you disable the WRBar addon and see if that works any better?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.