Problem with verifying image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by forumhound, Apr 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. forumhound

    forumhound Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    I'm using the most recent build of TI 9 (Home).

    I make backups (partition images) over a wired network.

    The backup's finish ok, however, I am unable to verify / validate the backup (I have 2 servers with 4 drives in each. They all have backups from various dates over the past year, including this month (April 06)).

    I can however, plug my laptop into the network, and verify any image.

    I have tried completely uninstalling and re-installing TI (I even deleted any registry keys left behind), but it makes no difference...

    Backup - YES, verfiy - NO.

    So what does TI do when verifying, surely it just reads the files...??

    If anyone has any ideas, I would be most grateful

    Thanks
     
  2. chris andrews

    chris andrews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    I noticed a similar problem, but I could not verify any images created with the previous version of ATI. In other words, have been using ATI Server ver 8 for many months, making tons of master and incremental images. I was then told about the great new version 9 and I must install it. Oh yeah, and OF COURSE, it requires a reboot.
    After install of ATI 9 on 3 servers (and reboots of production machines), I could no longer verify ANY image created with 8. Not too happy about this, and I will be watching your thread to see what is said to be the issue... good luck :rolleyes:
     
  3. forumhound

    forumhound Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Well, it seems that it will not verify my version 9 image either. (have you gone back to version eight) ??
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello forumhound,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please describe the issue in more details? Did you use Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media or did you use Acronis True Image in Windows? What message you received when trying to validate the images? Please try to create backup, store it to the local hard drive and after that try to validate it.

    Do you use the latest build (3567) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home on your laptop or you use another version of Acronis True Image?

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2006
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  6. forumhound

    forumhound Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    I am using the most recent build of TI 9 Home.

    I use both backup and verify through windows

    I've tested back up and verify on both local and usb drives, both complete with no problems.

    My network has no problems with reading, writing or speed.

    The only thing that appears to be a problem is TI verifying over the network.. however, it CAN create an image over the network... !!

    Also able to restore individual files from the image.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2006
  7. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    TI does NOT read files during the verify.
    All it does is verify "checksums" internal to the backup file that indicate whether the backup file was recorded correctly.

    If you really want to verify a backup, you can use:

    http://www.standards.com/index.html?CompareDrives
    http://www.standards.com/index.html?GetFileTypeDistribution

    First, you mount the drives from the backup, then you use the programs supra to compare each mounted drive with the corresponding physical drive.
     
  8. forumhound

    forumhound Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Thanks.. I'll try the alternative...

    Still doesn't explain why TI doesn't work on the files though
     
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    If the backup file does not verify in TI, then you might not be able to mount any volumes.

    The real puzzle will be IF you can mount the volumes, THEN why does not verify work in TI?
     
  10. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I would do a checksum comparison on the image file where it is residing and then run the checksum program from the remote computer and see if you get the same checksum. A free checksum program can be found at:

    http://www.irnis.net/soft/xcsc/

    Reading the image file for a TI verification is not the exactly the same as writing the file, IMO it puts more stress on subsytems doing the verify. This may not be the answer to the problem but in any case should provide increased confidence in the hardware.
     
  11. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    That won't work without knowing the checksum algorithm used by TI and the, shhh, top secret structure of a tI backup file.
     
  12. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    My answer was in response to his statement, "The only thing that appears to be a problem is TI verifying over the network.. however, it CAN create an image over the network... !!"

    I am aware the TI checksums are different but my intention is to calculate a regular checksum on the computer the archive is residing and then do the same checksum calculation from the remote computer. If they are different then it points to perhaps a problem with the network sub-system. It is not a 100% diagnosis but a step to find out what is going on.
     
  13. shawngiese

    shawngiese Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I am also having trouble with Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. I previously tried backing up my XP Pro system and unfortunately, when I needed it I found that the backup was corrupted (firewire IDE external drive). Hmm, so, I said to myself I guess I should have verified it before depending on it.

    Now, I have backed everything up again, waited a nice hour for the 80gigs to be backed up (which the log stated as "Operation has succeeded") but when I try to Verify the image I get "The selected file is not an Acronis True Image archive". I clicked on the 12 different files the backup made (I do not know which one to click on since thee is no indication other than the file name having a number at the end which increases.)

    What do I need to do to use this software? I do not understand how the log can say operation succeeded but otherwise the files are apparently all unusable? I tried the Plug Image Wizard too but I get the same result. Help!
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    Are you manually requesting the verify?

    Or are you asking TI to automatically verify AFTER it completes the backup?
    Try the latter. If the latter does not work, then you indeed have TI problems.
     
  15. forumhound

    forumhound Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    I have tried verfying both ways...

    I can mount the drives on my network with no problems... in fact, I can read/write/delete etc, very quickly and easily.
     
  16. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Wait, I'm confused, butt you already knew that!.

    Since when can TI do an image backup of a network drive?
    "Files and directories", yes, butt not an image.

    Has this changed in build 3567?
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    forumhound, Could you please confirm that you can't verify images through the network, but the same backups are verified successfully locally?

    Could you please also try to verify networked image when booted from Acronis True Image 9.0 Home rescue media?

    Thank you.
    --
    Anton Sherkhonov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.