problem with upgrade from NOD32 v3 to v4.2

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by duijv023, Oct 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    I am having problems on a fully patched 32bit Win XPpro PC. It had NOD32v3 installed, and I upgraded it to v4.2.

    After installing v4.2 win log file says: Eset NOD32 fully installed or something like that.
    I rebooted the PC, logged on in the user profile again, but the desktop dod not appear anymore.
    After hard reset logged in with domain admin: everything OK. Cleared tempfiles (also from the original user) and did a full scan in the documents and settings folder.
    returned to the user: still the same problems and needed a hard reset again.

    After rest logged in in domain admin profile and deleted NOD32 V4.2.
    Without NOD32v4.2 i can login the useraccount and everything is Ok then.

    I cleared all ESET folders on C drive, and deleted ESET folders in the registry (hklm\software\eset) and in the user folders in registry)

    After that I repeated the installation, but result is the same.
    In the meantime, the PC is scanned with hitmanpro, but it did not find anything, and in my opinion the PC works just fine...

    Besides: reinstall v3, does anyone have a good ideao_O
    I am not feeling very happy now to be honest :doubt:

    Greetings from Holland
     
  2. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
  3. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you please elaborate on the issue? You wrote: "After installing v4.2 win log file says: Eset NOD32 fully installed or something like that." Unfortunately, this is not sufficient to make a picture of what problem you're having. Does the computer hang with ESET installed and you need to do a hard reset or?
     
  5. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello,

    Were there any errors or warnings in Event Viewer (system/application)?

    Regards,

    Mark
     
  6. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    Hi,

    Im am not at that site now (one of my customer's network), so i cannot give precise information.
    The log entry after install said installation fully completed (perhaps in other words, but the conclusion is clear)

    Yes, with v4 the Windows boots, gives a taskbar + startbutton but no desktop icons, only background (even after a whole night :eek: ) And yes Marcos: i needed to do a hard reset in that case.
    At that stage i could (checked several times) only give CTRL/ALT/DEL to get the screen where you can select taskmanager. But after clicking the Taskmanager, it does not appear. To me it looks like an error with explorer.exeo_O?? Perhaps it is busy/locked one some process?

    And no; I did not find any log entry that I can relate to this issue.
    very strange, isn't it? But I had to make short term choices because i ran out of time. So i chose the workaround with v3

    Greetings from holland
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If possible, have the user reproduce the problem and generate a complete memory dump per the instructions here when the freeze/lockup occurs. When done, I'll provide you with further instructions for uploading the dump to our ftp server.
     
  8. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    Hi Marcos,

    If i knew this when i was at the site, i would be very glad to provide the information
    I will keep this in mind on my next visit to the customer. But i cannot promise that it will be soon...

    But thanks in advance,

    Greetings,

    Alexander
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.