Problem with Safari

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Riverrun, Jan 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Riverrun

Riverrun Registered Member

I don't know if it's appropriate to bring a Mac problem here. I'm hoping that someone in Wilders will be able to throw some light on it.

I have a weird problem with Safari. I noticed just today that it will not download .dmg files from the net.

I have no idea how long it's been going on because I haven't felt the need to download new stuff for awhile. Opera is working well, so is Miro and my internet connection seems fine.

I'm using Tiger 10.4.11 and I'm new to Mac. This is the first problem I've had with the new coputer...a 5 month old Black Macbook with 2 Gb of RAM.
    I have no idea what might be causing it. Can't be firewall settings, surely (basically, all the boxes are un-checked) or it would affect everything else and that is not the case.

This is what happens when I try to d/l a .dmg file...the blue pinstripe colour will start in the url bar and after a brief instant it will quit. It will only move a fraction of the way across the url bar, maybe 1/10 of the way and then stop. Clicking the 'manual download' produces the same result. The blue pinstripe gets to the second / in http //and then stops and disappears.

It will download a Windows .exe file but not a Mac .dmg. Same problem with Camino. Opera is the only browser that will d/l anything useful to Mac at the moment.

BTW, I tried the .exe d/l files purely as an experiment. I am not seeking to install a Windows program on a Mac system, even if that were possible short of using some sort of emulator.

So far I've:
    Verified Disk Permissions
    Repaired Disk permissions
    Verified Disk
    Cleared all Caches and Logs
    Ran Cron Scripts
    D/Led the Apple Combo 10.4.11 (in Opera) and installed it