Problem with Opera 12

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by Rasheed187, Jan 29, 2017.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,338
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I noticed that all of a sudden threads are not displayed correctly anymore with the vB 3.x - Fluid style. Has anything been changed? It doesn't matter if scripting is enabled or not and I haven't got any problems with Firefox. Can anyone perhaps check it out?
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,913
    Location:
    New England
    It appears that the latest XenForo update changed some styling, and the old Opera 12 was most impacted.

    Unfortunately, the vB 3.x - Fluid style is no longer being maintained. I poked around in it, but, could not figure out the issue.
     
  3. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I'm using Xenforo standard and have no issues. I tested vB3.x and there are formatting issues. I use Opera 12.18 for Wilders.
     
  4. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,304
    Opera 12.18 on XP
    - Flat awsome was goofy initially - fonts were all white, but became black later, and the placement is ok.
    - Fluid - text starts too low. First is the user and empty area where text of a post normally is, then the text begins right of the lower right corner of the user picture.
    - Xenforo standard - all ok.
     
  5. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,479
    Location:
    Europe
    Me too have these issues with Fluid and Opera 12.
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,338
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks guys, so it's not just me. But can this be fixed, can't you restore the old version? Because this really sucks.
     
  7. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,913
    Location:
    New England
    I'm afraid we can't reinstall the old version. We need to stay up to date with forum software upgrades.

    I tried installing a clean, unmodified version of XenForo and the vB Fluid style. Once XenForo upgraded to its recent 1.5.12 release, the vB3 Fluid style broke the same exact way there. That means that it isn't anything custom or specific to this site that is at issue. It's the combination of new XenForo and aging Opera/vB3 Fluid style.

    If someone here is a wiz at CSS and they use Inspect Element or other browser debug tools to figure out why the weird spacing and wrapping is happening, then they could let me know and I'll apply their fix.

    The vB3 Fluid style is entirely a CSS modification to the base XenForo style. You can download it yourself here to look at it:

    https://xenforo.com/community/resources/vb-3-x-fluid-fixed.2151/

    And yes, I looked at the last post in the discussion there. The "fix" they posted doesn't really make much of a difference. The text is still push way down in each post. It only narrowed the left side box where the avatar and info is located. That causes its own new problems, so, it's no good as a real fix.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,338
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for at least checking it out. But I do wonder about just how many morons exist on this planet. It worked perfectly fine for years, until some idiot made some change. If it ain't broke, don't try to fix it.

    So the skin hasn't got anything to do with it, it's basically caused by the forum software itself, very weird.
     
  9. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,913
    Location:
    New England
    Forum software updates can include changes to the base style. Since the vB3 Fluid theme is not really a full style, (it's just CSS adds/changes applied to the base), if something in base changes that it depends upon, it can mess it up.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,338
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ridiculous and shocking. I'm currently using FF, but I would rather use Opera 12.
     
  11. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,913
    Location:
    New England
    Well, I don't see it as ridiculous and shocking. The vB3 Fluid style was not an official product from XenForo. Some guy that liked vB3's look wrote it and posted it as a free to use style to those who wanted XenForo to look like vBulletin. I installed it only because people here didn't like the original style that came with XenForo.

    It worked for quite a while for a free addon. But, then the guy who made it decided to stop supporting it in 2015.

    Meanwhile, XenForo continues to move their product forward and don't hold up development because some styles might break. Professional style companies have to update their style packages when an update breaks their styles, as well.

    The default style we're using, Flat Awesome, has been getting regular updates. They did 1.5.11 which was the previous version of XenForo, when it came out. They haven't done 1.5.12 yet, which just came out Jan 17, but, they may not have to since nothing appears to have broken for their style.

    https://xenforo.com/community/resources/flat-awesome-pixelexit-com.3409/history

    I think we're lucky that we got as many years use out of the vb3 style as we did. Of course, keep in mind it's only broken on Opera 12, which itself is outdated. It stops working on more and more sites as they too get updated.
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,059
    I was using vB 3.x - Fluid style, and had no problem with Opera 12.15. That was until a few minutes ago. So, it finally [whatever changed] got to my computer.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,338
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, I see. And yes it's a problem specific to Opera 12, but I still wonder why it had to break.
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,059
    I just tried in Opera v36.0.2130.80, and it works fine. So, I have that option. ;)
     
Loading...