Problem with Norton Internet Security 2004

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by djsae2, Feb 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. djsae2

    djsae2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    When I try to open up the program a window pops up titled Windows Installer. In the window it says "Preparing to install" and then nothing happens. I will also get a message that says "A product that requires Norton WMI Update is still installed on this system." I have the icon in the status bar but I cannot open the program to make any changes.
    Please help.
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It seems to be related to Norton LiveUpdate and the Windows Management Instrumentation. Reinstalling the product would be your safest bet.
     
  3. djsae2

    djsae2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I've done that a few times and still the problem persists.
    I will try it again though.
    Thanks for the response.
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    OK you need to remove Norton AND delete all of its traces including registry entries...Only a pro can help you in that regard.
     
  5. MHR

    MHR Guest

    I've had the same problem with NAV 2003 and the problem still exists after (deep breath) uninstalling all norton and symantec files from the hard drive, removing all norton and symantec traces from the registry, running a registry cleanup utility, running a windows installer cleanup utitlity, checking for and removing all norton and symantec files from the hard drive again, manually downloading a newer live update utility and running it even though norton will not, and trying everything else I know how to do as a PC technician. Norton does not have any pertinent information relating to the problem. The install seems to go fine, but once it tries to run for the first time, the error returns - "A product that requires Norton WMI Update is still installed on this system."
     
  6. kuiper

    kuiper Guest

    I feel the problem has something to do with a utility I used for a cell phone, v300 from Motorola, and tmobel, anyone?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.