Problem with Macro program

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by InfinityAz, Jun 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Hi,

    I just installed and was trying to test appdefend but I ran into a problem. Whenever I try to run a macro using my macro program, appdefend catches it but then my computer locks up. I can't terminate any apps or processes and have to do a hard reset (a soft reset doesn't work).

    Needless to say, I've uninstalled Appdefend. Is there any way around this (e.g., manually configuring my macro program within appdefend, etc.).

    I'd really like to try appdefend and possbily buy it but if I can't use my macro program, which I've used and depended on for years, I'm not interested.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. f3x

    f3x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    It would be hard to help you without more detail
    What is this "macro program" ?

    What does it do exactly to cause that behavoir from appdefend ?
    Did you configured appdefend or keep it like out of the box ?
    is there any log of activity you can use to give more detail ?
    Please contact GSS suport by email
     
  3. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    The macro program is ToolsWorks. I pressed a key combination to start up a program. AppDefend caught this and popped up an alert but as I said earlier, it froze the computer.

    It had default configuration, I had just installed, and pressed the key combination to start a program...

    There is no log because I had to boot into safe mode and delete AppDefend. Then I reimaged my system with TI to get it back to its original state.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Hi InfinityAZ

    You might try installing Appdefend, and the first running the programs manually allowing the appropriate permissions in Appdefend. Then the macro will probably work. Your macro is probably spitting out keystrokes so fast you never see or can react to the Appdefend pop ups, so Appdefend stops everything waiting for a response, and you are locked up.

    Pete
     
  5. f3x

    f3x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Just for testing i'd do:

    0) Disable regdefend... just to be sure it's really an appdefend problem

    1) Disable appdefend ;)
    This should take care of seeing if it is really an appdefend problem ....

    2) Delete any previous rules concerning this macro program
    to be sure you have not blocked it using those rules


    3) Enable appdefend & set all default rules to alwais allow
    If this fail .. and you have no special rule for your program
    then no configuration will help you and there is really a bug in GSS

    4) Enable appdefend but set the folowing default rules to alwais allow:

    Start Application
    Modify process (used to create global hook like keyboard)
    Physical memory (if this is used by your macro program to reach keyboard .... well it's probably a poor design ? )

    If this works, ensure you have the log checkbox checked next to those rules
    You'll use the log to generate a special rule for your application.

    5) Reset all default rule to your previous configuration and test your special ruel for this particular app. If it works you'r ok

    6) Enable regdefend and toy a little.... it's possible that rd is the problem
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.