problem with firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by howlin'wolf, Jun 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. howlin'wolf

    howlin'wolf Guest

    Hi. I use NPF with a proxy service, but noticed that when i use the proxy, advertisements are not blocked on certain sites. Without the proxy all advertisements are blocked, when using ad blocking in NPF. Does this mean my firewall is not working properly when i use the proxy? Or is it just the ad blocking feature that doesn't work right when i use the proxy? Any ideas how i can get the ad blocking feature to work with my proxy service? Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi howlin'wolf

    Is this a remote proxy service or a proxy software?
    Does it involve using any non stadard ports/services?
    Which version of NPF?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. howlin'wolf

    howlin'wolf Guest

    Hi CrazyM

    My proxy service (if you call it that) is JAP. It uses port 4001. And my version of NPF is 2003 v 6.0.4.35. Which contains ad blocking and popup blocker that seem to work quite good without the proxy turned on.
     
  4. jvmorris

    jvmorris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Not sure where it is in your version. (CrazyM may recall.)

    At any rate, find Advanced Options . . . and switch to the "Other" tab. There you will find a list of ports enabled "HTTP Port List" or something similar. You'll note that it probably already includes the more common HTTP ports.

    I believe you'll need to addd 4001 to that list.

    From the NIS/NPF 2002 Help file on this subject.
     
  5. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Howlin'wolf,

    Please note if you are using a modified hosts file (to block access to ad servers by their domain name) then this will not work with any proxy service (since the proxy service is using its own hosts file instead). This may explain, along with JVMorris' post, why you are seeing ads on some sites but not others.
     
  6. howlin'wolf

    howlin'wolf Guest

    Thanks guys for the help. Paranoid i am not using a modified host file. I think JVMorris was correct in his post, i think. Now if i can just figure out how to do it.
     
  7. jvmorris

    jvmorris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Howlin',

    I really wish I could tell you where to find that screen, but I've never used NIS/NPF 2003, so I really don't know. Symantec has the most annoying habit of restructuring their user interface so that the location and procedures to find something that you need changes from one major release to the next.

    CrazyM has, at least, run it, so he may still remember. Also, NanDog passes through occasionally, and I believe he still uses NIS 2003. Crystal Sky (at BBR/DSLR Security Forum) is also a NIS 2003 user.
     
  8. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2004
  9. howlin'wolf

    howlin'wolf Guest

    It worked! Thanks JVMorris, CrazyM, and also Paranoid2000 your help is much appreciated. One thing i would like to add, before i added the 4001 to the list in NPF i disabled javascript in my browser and that also made the ads go away. But i would like to leave javascript enabled. So the ad blocking feature now works with javascript enabled.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.