Problem with Avast Antivirus

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by shady, Sep 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shady

    shady Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    hi!

    i use avast antivirus home edition (free) and i have a problem.

    everytime i reboot my comp, looknstop asks if it should block avast (as like it would be if a new program wants to connect).

    i add it to my application filter and it works fine until the next reboot. it asks again and again and again and .....
     
  2. neutrino

    neutrino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    I have had the same problem with Avast and Sygate firewall - it seems there's some kind of a bug whenever Avast updates the actual program - which I suspect is what your's has done recently - they'v had a number of emails about this, I have no idea if their any closer to solving it.. the only way around it seems - is to reinstall your firewall ~ means having to reset all yoru "ok's to connect etc etc " which isnt such a bad thing~ gives you a chance to review ~ well... at least that's what I tell myself - to soften the blow of having to reinstall mine.
    Contact Avast for more info on what their doing about it ~ at least it doesnt happen too often, and since I DO like Avast - I don't mind the once in a while reinstall of the firewall.
    but... t'would be nice if they'd correct it.
    I wonder---- if --- we set the update to "tell me before doing it" for program updates - and while the program is updating, we took down the firewall, once the update was done, we started up the firewall again.. might be worth a try next time ~ or even rebooted after the update as well -- I might giveit a go next time a program update comes through.
    hope this helps.
     
  3. rerun2

    rerun2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Posts:
    338
    I think this is due to the way Avast! updates. When Avast! updates, I believe it creates a file called avast.setup and then deletes it soon after. This is probably what is causing LnS application filtering to consistently warn you when Avast! tries to update.
     
  4. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hi,

    I do not advise you to that at all !
    Just 10s are fully enought to got the worms Sasser and alike.

    You can disable the application filtering temporarely, this is less dangerous than to disable your internet filtering.
    Of course do not forget to enable it again afterwards.

    regards,

    gkweb.
     
  5. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Yeah, this is how avast works.
    But neither ZA nor Outpost keep asking for access more than once o_O
    Sygate has a little bit more troubles with avast updates.
    I did not test with LnS firewall.
     
  6. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    Yup, no problem with ZA Pro 4.5.594 and Avast Home.
     
  7. DeeJayLolo

    DeeJayLolo Guest

    Got the same problem with Sygate Personal Firewall. I have disabled the automatic update, Avast warns me only when an update is available and it works.
     
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    It shouldn't be a problem now with the recent release of Look 'n' Stop...
     
  9. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Same problem here - problem is siad to much, but when authiorzing avastsetup it appears in Lns with ? Looks like they are changing the md5 or whatever. This is true for 4.5beta too.

    Phantom - Do you mean with the new driver its gone??

    Ruben
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    When it updates, does it always use the same filename? Is the entry in App-Filtering list being manually deleted? How many App-Filtering entries you have? and are there any warnings about signature changes?

    tosbsas, no...
     
  11. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    same filename, but always with ? sign. No manual delete. 15 app filtering entries and no warnings

    Ruben
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Theoretically, it may because the updater is being removed to quickly before Look ‘n’ Stop App-filtering had chance to retrieve information from it…
     
  13. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Why not try blocking it; it may give you the opportunity to make copy of the file while it is in attempt to update. Afterwards, authorize it from Application Filtering list, but if the file been deleted before hand then you have backup which you can place back into that location and manually add it to Look ‘n’ Stop Application Filtering list, this should solve the problem (assuming the previous post was on track).
     
  14. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Manually ad to app list - where??

    Ruben
     
  15. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    "Add" button below App-filter list bro...
     
  16. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    whow - never really saw that one - shame on me :)--))

    That was a goooood idea

    Have Avast on my second system and so I cannot test it right away, but that#s a keeper

    Ruben
     
  17. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Ruben, this is how avast updates...
    The file C:\...\Avast4\Setup\setup.ovr is transformed into avast.setup (a temporary file that connects the Internet for update). Each 'program' update generates a new avast.setup file that asks for permition. The majority of the firewalls asked for permition very rarely but Sygate, unfortunately, not...
     
  18. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    The file name is the same but the file is changed.
    It's a temporary file but it just changes in program updates and not VPS (virus database) updates... :cool:
     
  19. teg000

    teg000 Guest

    Unfortunately Phant0m's solution doesn't work on my computer.
    Does anybody have an idea??
     
  20. Xyzzy

    Xyzzy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    Poland
    1. Dump Avast for stupid way its update works.
    2. Turn off automatic updates and perform them by hand.
    3. Get used to clicking Allow after every computer startup.

    X.
     
  21. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    It would not work if you using earlier versions before “Version 2.05p2”,

    “* non-existing applications are now removed only if the number max of application is almost reached (this will solve some issues with connecting applications automatically created and deleted).”

    And you have a great number of applications in Application-filtering list.


     
  22. teg000

    teg000 Guest


    I installed version 2.05p2 and application filtering stopped working.
    LnSRegPatch said that patch was ok.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.