Problem With Aomei Backupper Free 5.8

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TerryWood, Jul 4, 2020.

  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @ Wilders

    I have Windows 10 x64 V2004

    Aomei Backupper is installed along with Macrium Reflect Free. I make images from each.

    Recently I updated Aomei to version 5.8 from V5.6. Since V5.8 has been installed I am finding that the shutting down of Windows 10 is circa one minute.

    Yet under version 5.6 it is circa 10 seconds. I contacted Aomei but they have not come back with any suggestions.

    If I remove Aomei completely, shutdown is virtually instantaneous.

    I have an M2 500gb SSD and 16gb Ram Ryzen processor

    Can anyone suggest how to resolve this issue?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  2. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @ Wilders

    Surely, someone has the capacity to help me find where to look/how to look. Alternatively, to bogoff. either way...........?

    Terry
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,024
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Terry, you asked for an opinion. Mine is remove AOEMI completely. Not that it's a bad app but it's behaving badly in your computer.

    You can make AOMEI images offline if you desire.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2020
  4. RazTK

    RazTK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    None
    Hello Terry,

    Looking at this post on the AOMEI Backupper forums (which mentions the same or a similar issue to yours), it seems to be related to the latest Windows 10 version and the Backupper's own scheduling service. So you may try to disable said service and use Windows Task Scheduler to manage your backup schedules (if it's currently not set-up this way). I think there's an option in Backupper that allows you to choose which scheduler to use.
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,026
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Then you might try EaseUS ToDo.
     
  6. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi Guys

    Thanks for your thoughts. Not quite what I was expecting but relevant nonetheless.

    Terry
     
  7. RazTK

    RazTK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    None
    @TerryWood My post was approved (see above) in case you haven't noticed yet. :)
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,277
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I use AOMEI Backupper Pro on 2 laptops (not my preferred solution, but I have licenses) and had noticed a shutdown slowdown but hadn't attributed it to AB.
    Wasn't prepared to uninstall to test it as I only shutdown / reboot infrequently, and didn't think to look in Event Viewer.

    Sounds like @RazTK's solution is the one to try. There is indeed the (default) option of AB's own service or Windows Task Scheduler.

    Edit: For me AB's service may have another conflict: I get an occasional DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION BSOD on my machines when used in conjunction with Glasswire (gwdrv.sys). (GW has acknowledged a problem, so far not fixed, but it occurs on AB schedule start. AB support is prompt, but they have also not offered a solution).
    The problem is probably really with GW, after dump diagnosis by dev of ReHIPS, with which I had a similar problem.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2020
  9. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi RazTK

    Thanks for that. Yes, I missed it. I will certainly look into it.

    Thanks again

    Terry
     
  10. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @RazTK

    I'm using Aomei Backupper Free. There is a toggle switch in the Backup settings which switches between Msoft VSS service an Aomei Backupper Service. In my case it was already set to MS VSS service.

    Apart from that I could find no other switches to switch off the Aomei Backupper service.

    In SERVICES it is possible to switch off and or disable Aomei Backupper Service, but this is only temporary, and is restarted after a backup or reboot.

    So it looks as though either it is a wait for the techies at Aomei to find a solution or switch to Aomei Backupper v5,6 or use another program.

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  11. RazTK

    RazTK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    None
    What if you disable the service too after turning it off? (change its startup type to Disabled)
     
  12. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @zapjb

    I tried TodoBackup. and I quite liked it. There was one major flaw in it. You can Comment on the First full backup to explain what it was for, but on subsequent Differential/Incremental backups there is NO facility to do this. So if you have a full backup and several Diffs or Incrm. you are flying blind at the restore stage.

    Thanks for your help

    Terry
     
  13. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @RazTK

    Thanks again. I tried that, but on restart Disabled is changed to Automatic. There is probably coding in Aomei to ensure that their service enabled and running.

    I tried a number of combinations but No Joy.

    Terry
     
  14. RazTK

    RazTK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    None
    Two things to try (in order, because it's easier to revert the first one):

    1. Stop the service and rename the file that the service relies on (you can probably see the file name at the service's properties).
    2. If the above doesn't help, you can try to delete the service using the command line ("sc" command).

    I'd be surprised if Backupper restores the service after either of the above, but if it does, there are also permission tricks to try. Hopefully we won't get there.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2020
  15. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi RazTK

    Thanks RazTK. Hang on in there I may need you some more. Will try your suggestion shortly.

    Terry
     
  16. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @RazTK

    Did as you suggested. The file I renamed was ABService.exe (I added.old to it) I shut down the service before renaming. Then opened up Aomei Backup, checked the service still not running. Then shut down. It shut down like rocket. Bingo. Then I restarted the PC, service still not running.

    Finally, I tried a full backup. IT FAILED - Error Message "Failed to start Backup service" Aomei is set on use VSS service

    So, back to square one.

    Terry
     
  17. RazTK

    RazTK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    None
    I was hoping that the scheduler is a service of its own and Backupper doesn't rely on it in actually doing the backups, especially when choosing to use Windows' own Task Scheduler.

    At this point I think the best option would be to wait for AOMEI to actually solve the problem itself rather than trying to work-around it.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  19. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
    Where's the fix?

    By the way, AOMEI Backupper is known to break things.
    I've experienced it first hand.
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  21. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  23. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @ Wilders

    Fix already installed and working.

    Terry
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,277
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Make sure you have the latest version, they did update it.

    Edit: I will wait for AB 5.9, fix hopefully included there.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.