Problem when making boot disc

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tral, Mar 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tral

    Tral Guest

    Whenever I try to make "bootable media" on a CD-R it just stops. After inserting a blank CD-R and pressing "proceed" a litte window with the nice little clock animation shows, but nothing more! I can even open the tray to the CD-burner, it hasn't even started spinning the CD!

    What can be the problem? If I choose to make floppies everything works perfectly.
     
  2. Tral

    Tral Guest

    Ok...

    Is there anywhere I can find an ISO of the boot disk?
     
  3. Manyara

    Manyara Guest


    I have the same problem and I already wrote to the German Acronis support because of this problem. The problem only occurs by using the build 800 release. I am still waiting for the Answer of the Acronis support.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Tral and Manyara,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

    We recommend you to update third party CD writing software if any to the latest version available for free on its respective web site. If this does not help, please try the following workaround.

    - Eject any disc from the burner prior to starting the program;
    - Proceed until the program asks for a disc;
    - Insert a disc and then click the OK button to close the tray automatically.

    If this doesn't help either please try to burn the CD in Windows Safe mode (press F8 when Windows starts up and choose the Safe mode to boot into).

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. Hoopster

    Hoopster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Discovered a solution that works for me!

    I needed to make a rescue CD with build 800 last night. No matter what I tried I would immediately get an error message (after briefly seeing the clock) saying the rescue CD had failed to burn. TI had not even attempted to access the CD.

    The solution for me? Open the drive tray; place the CD in the tray but *do not close the tray; leave it open!* When you click on "Proceed" the tray will close and TI will recognize the CD and burn to it successfully. Don't ask me why this works, but, it did for me and I verified that the boot CD works properly. I submitted this to Acronis support as a bug.
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Re: Discovered a solution that works for me!

    Hello Hoopster,

    If you're using Windows XP and haven't got InCD version 4.3.11.1 installed, open "My Computer", right click on your CD/DVD buner, select "Properties" and then the "Recording" tab. Uncheck "Enable CD recording on this drive". This will disable Windows XP's built in drag-and-drop recording facility. Installing InCD v4.3.11.1 does this automatically. Also, If using Roxio software, disable the Drag-to-Disk feature.

    What's likely happening is that either Windows or Roxio grabs control of the CD before TI is ready for it.

    Regards
     
  7. Hoopster

    Hoopster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Re: Discovered a solution that works for me!

    Thanks, I'll try it. Your explanation makes sense and is what I suspected as a probable cause. However, I did not know the trick for disabling Windows drag-and-drop recording. I'm using Roxio EasyCD Creator.
     
  8. Tral

    Tral Guest

    I updated from Nero 6.6.0.3 to 6.6.0.8a and made Acronis pull in the tray. It didn't work.

    Then I booted up in safe mode. And it worked! :) But I combined safe mode, the trick about pulling the tray, and the update of Nero. So I don't know if you need the two first steps of the process.
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Tral,

    Glad you managed to sort it. Updating Nero Burning ROM rather than Nero InCD will not have had any effect as far as creating the rescue CD is concerned. As you had already tried the loading drawer workaround without success you can be certain that booting into Windows safe mode is what did the trick in your case. This is a well known workaround thats been mentioned numerous times in other threads.

    Regards
     
  10. Hoopster

    Hoopster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Re: Discovered a solution that works for me!

    Well, the above trick did not work. ATI refuses to recognize a CD unless it pulls in the tray. At least I can make a boot CD unlike some others.
     
  11. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Re: Discovered a solution that works for me!

    Hi again Hoopster,

    Did you have Roxio DirectCD/Drag-to-Disk running in the background whilst trying to create the boot CD? If so, close it down and see if it makes any difference.

    A few people have posted success after disabling the Windows IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service (right click "My Computer" then select "Manage">"Services and Applications">"Services" and then right click the IMAPI service, select "Properties" and under "Startup type" select "Disabled"). However, I wouldn't normally recommend this as it cripples certain apps that want to record to CD e.g. Windows Media Player.

    Regards
     
  12. rellis1063

    rellis1063 Guest

    Have the same problem guess many others do. Is this a bug just in v8? Anyway, have tried all the workarounds, still nothing works. Get a little further when I hit Proceed and let TI close the tray. Now goes for about 30 secs until the tray just opens and then get the 'Error burning a CD' message. Have also tried in Safe Mode, but as I suspected would happen, I get error message E-00010F4, Did not find any hard disk drives, no doubt because my CD-Writer is an External USB unit. What's next? Do you guys have a fix in the works? I have a floppy set made, but surely would feel more comfortable with a CD!!
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    I had same problem. Though mine seemed to actually be burning. Though in the end i got "Error burning CD" or some message of that nature. I found out even though the CD did not boot, it contained the data. I realized TI V8 Build 800, did not Finalize the disc. By making a ISO of the CD that failed to finalize, I was able to reburn it using Ahead Nero, checking the finalize button.
    It works perfectly fine now.
     
  14. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello rellis1063,

    This is not specific to TI 8. A few people have had the problem through various version numbers.

    Contact support@acronis.com, provide them with proof of purchase (your reg key), explain your difficulty and, if you ask nicely (;)), they will probably send you a link to download an ISO of the boot rescue CD. Just burn the ISO to CD as per the instructions provided via one of the links at the end of this <Acronis Sticky>. If you do receive a link for the ISO please don't publish it in the public domain!!

    Regards
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello rellis1063,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Please update your CD burner firmware if possible and if this doesn't help either send a letter with the description of the problem and your serial number to support@acronis.com as Menorcaman advised. We will certainly help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.