Problem - Running scans

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by IanW, Mar 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IanW

    IanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    I have NOD32 V2 under WinXP.
    When attempting to run scans available under NOD32 either by using Run NOD32 or Local options scan activates for about 5-10 seconds, allows me to view scan screen then auto shuts down the screen. NOD32 stays active despite this "glitch".

    Is this normal?

    Am I/have I done something wrong?
     
  2. izi

    izi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    354
    Location:
    Slovenia
    No, this is not normal. Run NOD32 in Safe mode.

    Izi
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Hi IanW,
    please restart Windows in Safe mode, run NOD32 scanner with the /ah parameter so that advanced heuristics is used for scanning. If NOD32 finds a probably unknown Newheur_PE virus, please rename the file's extension and send the file to samples@nod32.com for analysis.
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    look at this thread post number 6
    see if it also applies to you

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=24398
     
  5. IanW

    IanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    My thanks for all the assistance. System now appears ok. Unknown virus detected and sent for analysis.
     
  6. Emil

    Emil Guest

    Let me know if /ah is a forever switch or I have to activate each time when I make a scan
    Thanks!
     
  7. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi,
    No, you need to write /ah switch in order to enable AH in Scanner each time that you start this.
    ESET recommend use the /ah switch only if you feel that you're infected and no virus is detected in a normal scanner, however I run a scan with ah weekly, it's a personal option.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.