Problem - Running scans

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by IanW, Mar 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IanW

    IanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    I have NOD32 V2 under WinXP.
    When attempting to run scans available under NOD32 either by using Run NOD32 or Local options scan activates for about 5-10 seconds, allows me to view scan screen then auto shuts down the screen. NOD32 stays active despite this "glitch".

    Is this normal?

    Am I/have I done something wrong?
     
  2. izi

    izi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    354
    Location:
    Slovenia
    No, this is not normal. Run NOD32 in Safe mode.

    Izi
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hi IanW,
    please restart Windows in Safe mode, run NOD32 scanner with the /ah parameter so that advanced heuristics is used for scanning. If NOD32 finds a probably unknown Newheur_PE virus, please rename the file's extension and send the file to samples@nod32.com for analysis.
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    look at this thread post number 6
    see if it also applies to you

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=24398
     
  5. IanW

    IanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    My thanks for all the assistance. System now appears ok. Unknown virus detected and sent for analysis.
     
  6. Emil

    Emil Guest

    Let me know if /ah is a forever switch or I have to activate each time when I make a scan
    Thanks!
     
  7. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi,
    No, you need to write /ah switch in order to enable AH in Scanner each time that you start this.
    ESET recommend use the /ah switch only if you feel that you're infected and no virus is detected in a normal scanner, however I run a scan with ah weekly, it's a personal option.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.