Problem restoring with Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Decapad, Aug 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Decapad

    Decapad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Posts:
    176
    Hi. Trying to restore using Macrium Reflect. I get an error message when I'm nearly complete - says "please run program from windows PE rescue disk or boot menu" I'm trying to restore from an external hard drive. Any clue?

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Also had trouble with Paragon. Again just at the end, error message "some files in use, can't open or create file". Offers reboot as a remedy, but on rebooting the process fails. So I'm a 2-fer!!!

    I'll take the course of least resistance. Thanks v much. D:)
     
  2. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    But restore to what? Your boot drive? If so, it can't restore over files that are in use by the system. Boot from the rescue disk (as suggested) and restore from there. Or use the Boot Menu option.
     
  3. Decapad

    Decapad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Posts:
    176
    Hi Marc P. I have Windows 8. How do I restore using Boot menu option? Thanks v much:)
     
  4. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    In one of the menu, you can set a boot option. I think it's under the Options menu. I don't have Reflect on this machine to check. When you have that enabled, you'll get a menu option next time you reboot. To boot into Win8 or boot into Reflect rescue environment.

    EDIT: It is under the "Other tasks" menu and "Add recovery boot menu option".
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2013
  5. Decapad

    Decapad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Posts:
    176
    Where's the other tasks menu?
     
  6. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Is that Reflect Free, Standard or Pro? "Other Tasks" is a menu. On the menu bar. Top of the window.
     
  7. Decapad

    Decapad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Posts:
    176
    free .
     
  8. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    I don't use Free. It may not be an option of the free version. You'll have to create a boot rescue media (USB or DVD) using the "Create bootable rescue media" button on the toolbar.
     
  9. Decapad

    Decapad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Posts:
    176
    I thought you meant "other tasks" in windows. I found it on in Reflect. I understand. Thanks v much for ur kind help!!!;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.