Problem restoring Linux image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by brock, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brock

    brock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    I'm having problems restoring a Linux disk image (OpenSuSE10.2) using Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation.

    When creating the image I select the entire disk, then saved image to our file server.

    I then wish to restore image to another PC, I boot from Acronis True Image 9.1 boot CD, select my image, select restore entire disk (swap, primary and MBR are all ticked), it then goes ahead and restores and completes Ok.

    I reboot the PC, then I greeted with 'NO BOOTABLE OS INSTALLED' what am I doing wrong?

    I tried /sbin/lilo, no file found.
     
  2. brock

    brock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Well I've found a workaround but this is not ideal.

    I boot from the SuSE installation DVD, then select 'Installation' (not NOT rescue), let it do its thing, then you get to 'Install', 'Update' and 'Options', I select 'Options', then selected 'boot installed O/S'. It then proceeds to boot the newly create image of the O/S.

    The I run this 'grub-install /dev/hda/'

    For me, it reports no errors, but it definitely fixes something after running it.

    I then reboot as normal and all works fine.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have not tried SuSE, but when restoring an Ubuntu partition (booted with GRUB), the GRUB link is broken. Grub has to be reinstalled to allow the system to boot.

    It's probably the same problem you're having. Apparently Grub looks for something in an exact place on the hard drive. Since TI does not restore everything into the exact same places, the link for Grub is broken.
     
  4. babakan

    babakan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    There are multiple issues here. Yes, if the restore is not to exactly the same sectors (and it may not be), you may have to reinstall Grub or Lilo to the bginning of the Linux partition. and chain boot the Linux Boot Loader again. However, there is an Acronis problem. TI dies not seem to restore the first two sectors of the Linux partitiion. It fills it with zeros.

    I have been trying to get Acronis tech support to recognize this problem , but they stubbornly refuse. I am very angry about this. I keep bouncing emails back and forth. They either misunderstand the problem or don't have competent tech people answering the questions. I am going to post a new thread on this forum about this.



     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello brock,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Workstation Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please notice that most Linux bootloaders use absolute addressing (that is, they point to the certain sector of the disk). As you are restoring to a different system, the data layout will be different and the bootloader will need to be fixed.

    Please also notice that according to Acronis Licensing Policy you should purchase a copy of Acronis Product per computer it will be used on.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.