Problem restoring image with ATI 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by capri435, Oct 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. capri435

    capri435 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,i made a bootable dvd with Acronis bootable media utility and the backed up image on the same disc with True image home 11 but am unable to restore the image.The image was made on a Microsoft virtual pc as a "Full Backup" of an entire partition.First of all I tried it on my IDE hard drive,which it didnt recognise at all and kept telling there was no HD for god knows why.Then i tried on a Seagate 250 GB sata HD and it was restored but on Bootup it gave me a BSOD "Fatal Error".I then restored the MBR and Track 0 and then again tried restoring the image,everything went fine but again gave me the same BSOD.

    Can some one put some light on the issue where am i goin wrong or is the software at fault.Am bit unsure about the MBR n stuff....what does an MBR stores exactly.True image doesnt give any option while backing an entire partition but theres option while restoring.I make sure the the size of the partition is same,the one in the Virtual Machine and the partition where am going to restore so that i dont need to resize.In case of an image made on a Virtual macine what needs to be done??

    any help wud be appreciated
    thanks
     
  2. capri435

    capri435 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Anyone Got a clue??
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What OS are you trying to restore (XP, Vista, etc.)?

    Are you trying to restore an image created in Virtual PC to a "real" computer?

    If so, you're probably getting the BSOD because of the hardware differences. Restoring from a VM image is no different than trying to restore an image created on one "real" computer to another "real" computer.

    After you do the restore, you'll probably have to boot from your Windows CD/DVD and do a repair install to fix it. Then install any updates necessary since the repair will put Windows back to the state of the Windows CD/DVD.

    TI always saves the MBR and Track 0 with every backup image. During the restore you have the option of whether or not to restore it. Normally, it's not necessary. In this case, it's not the cause of your problems. The BSOD comes after any problem with the MBR would manifest itself.
     
  4. capri435

    capri435 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    So there is no way i can restore an image of a virtual pc to a real one??
    Not even with universal restore?

    thanks for the reply mudcrab
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You could try Universal Restore, however, first I would try doing the restore to the new PC and see if it works without Universal Restore.

    You won't know unless you try it. Every computer is different. Virtual PC uses pretty standard drivers so you may be able to boot up okay when restored on a "real" system. You may want to change the video driver to Standard VGA first before you image and try to restore. That way the S3 driver isn't installed.

    There is no "Yes, this works" or "No, it doesn't" answer to this question unless someone has tried the procedure using EXACTLY the same hardware you're restoring to.

    The reason a Repair Install of Windows may be needed is that most newer systems don't have their drivers built into Windows. So when Windows trys to boot after the restore, it loads the drivers used on the other computer (in this case, the VM) and crashes. However, sometimes Windows can detect the hardware and install the necessary drivers automatically and boot up correctly (or at least enough to allow you to install any necessary drivers).
     
  6. capri435

    capri435 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    i already did that....i restored an image from a virtual pc to my "Physical" pc and it gave me a BSOD.My post was all about that....

    i thought it could be a mbr problem and tried restoring that aswell...but gave me BSOD aswell.

    will do some more testing and try universal restore aswell....and post
    thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.