Problem Creating MustangPEBuilder 2 Disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by curlysir, Apr 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    I having a problem when I try to create a MustangPE Disk. The system reboot during the process. I have downloaded and installed the AIK program. I have also downloaded the TI2009 add on. I have the MustangPEBuilder 2.

    I have TI2009 installed, I am running XP Pro 32.

    I have added TI2009 to the plug in path.

    [Plugins]
    plugin1=AutoIt3\AutoIt3.exe
    plugin2=A43\A43Utility.exe
    plugin3=TiHome2009\TiHome2009.exe


    When I do a check path it tells me AutoIt3 is not installed. Is this something that PEBuilder installs or do I need to download. I also do not have A43 installed but I do not get an error message.

    When I click "Create WinPE ISO the progress bar starts and it start to copy files. About 1/3 of the way on what I think is Processing PE Add Language (It reboots so fast when it gets here this is all I can read) the system reboots. There are 2 steps that process before this happens. I have turned off all start up items and that did not help. The winpe_X86 directory is created on the c: and has an ISO and Mount folder in it.

    I have searched and read about creating a disk with MustangPEBuilder, but don't see where anyone has this problem.

    All I did to install MustangPEBuilder 2 was to download the zip file and unzip it it on the C: drive. Does not appear to be anything else to installing.

    What do I need to do next to try and find the cause of the problem. I do not have this problem with other programs.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    If you're not using any AutoIt scripts (you're not), then you don't need to worry about that. A43 gets included automatically if you leave it in the plugins file (the default). I assume the A43 folder exists in the plugins folder.

    Are you adding a language pack?

    Since the program terminated without finishing, did you delete the winpe_x86 folder before trying to run the program again?

    Is the build created successfully if you don't include TI 2009 in the plugins file?
     
  3. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Not adding language pack that I know of. The systems goes black and reboots so quick at this step, I am not certain about what it actually says, there are 2 steps that complete before it gets to this stage.

    Yes, I am deleting the winpe_x86 folder.

    No, I tried it once without TI 2009 plugin and got the same results.

    I did some debugging and I am getting NTFS errors. They are caused by the Mustang PE Builder.

    I may try to run the PE builder on another computer in the morning to see what happens.
     
  4. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    This is most likely caused by a conflict between your anti virus software and Microsoft's wimflt.sys driver. This driver is used to mount the PE image from the WAIK. I had the same problem using VistaPE on one computer that also has Norton Anti Virus 2007 installed. The solution was to disable Norton Auto Protect during the build. Try disabling your anti virus and see what happens.
     
  5. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    That was one of my first thoughts. I am using Zone Alarm and have turned it off. Same results. Any other thoughts before I reload everything on another computer and try. Is safe mode an acceptable alternate?
     
  6. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Making some progress. Loaded everything on another computer and tried the process. The 1st time I had the exact same results at the same point in the process. After the system rebooted I tried again but from the location I had copied and unzipped the Mustang file (I had copied the Mustang directory to the c: drive for the 1st try). It worked the 2nd time and created a Iso. I then tried it with the TI Plugin and it created another iso.

    I loaded the cd in and booted and it loads files and gets to a screen with a cmd window open and hangs. The windows has 2 lines:

    x:\windows\system32\wpeinit
    x:\windows\system32>

    The window has a heading of c:\Administrator:X:|windows\system32\cmd.exe

    The screen has a 2 tone gray background.

    If I close the cmd window the system reboots.

    What now? Any suggestions?
     
  7. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Sounds like you didn't copy the entire folder you unzipped to the C: drive because running the program from where you unzipped it made a difference. It also sounds like the BSExplorer subfolder was not present or corrupted. BSExplorer should start automatically after you see that command window.

    I've sent you an email with a link to redownload the program. Make sure you see a BSExplorer subfolder after you unzip it. Also make sure to copy the entire folder before running MustangPEBuilder.
     
  8. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Downloaded the file, unzipped on the C: drive. Ran MustangPEBuilder with default settings. Iso created without a problem. Reboot system and same problem as before. Loads windows files and loads windows then hangs with open cmd window with same lines as before

    x:\windows\system32\wpeinit
    x:\windows\system32>

    There is a BSExplorer subfolder. And the PEBuilder give no error messages and I tried burning the iso on another cd. Computer has 4GB of memory and has passed Memtest86+ several times.

    What would you suggest I try now, do I possibly need to download and reinstall the AIK. It installed without any apparent problems.
     
  9. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Is there anyway to tell if BSExplorer is being copied from the cmd window? I have played around with the cmd window some and see lots of files, but don't really know what to look for. I can access all of my drives, so something is working, but no windows interface just a cmd window and when I close it the system reboots.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2009
  10. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    A file called winpeshl.ini is responsible for starting BSExplorer. You will find it in the same folder along with MustangPEBuilder.exe. After you boot the CD, you should find it in X:\Windows\System32. Is it there? The last line of the file should read "%SystemDrive%\Program Files\BSExplorer\explorer.exe".

    Boot the CD and at the command window enter "X:\Program Files\BSExplorer\explorer.exe" with the quotes. BSExplorer should start.
     
  11. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Yes the file is in the directory and below is the contents of the file.

    [LaunchApps]
    "SetRes h1024 v768 b32"
    wpeinit.exe
    AutoRun.cmd
    "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\BSExplorer\explorer.exe"

    The file winpeshl.ini is not in the X:\Windows\System32 folder. And there is not a BSExplorer folder on the X: Drive.

    I can get BSExplorer to run by navigating to the c: drive and going to the BSExplorer directory in the MustangPE directory.

    For some reason the BSExplorer direrctory is not getting created and the winpeshl.ini in not loading.

    Is this supposed to be automatic and built in your builder or is there some file I can check?
     
  12. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Just for the fun of it I created a iso with the run from cd option and tried to boot.

    Got the following:

    Windows Failed to Start

    File:\windows\system32\winload.exe

    Status 0xc000000f

    The selected entry could not be loaded because the application is missing or corrupt.

    All the program files were on the cd, A43, Acronis, Autoit3, Bsexplorer, and Common Files

    There are 2 system 32 files SYSTEM32 696kb and SYSTEM32) 232kb

    This is really starting to bug me, it is more of an annoyance then anything else as I have created a Rescue Media CD and can use it successfully but would like the other options available with a PE disk.

    I have access to a high speed internet connection so I may download the AIK file again, but I am not sure that is the problem.
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Here is the MD5 value I have on the WAIK SP1 download (the 1.34GB ISO file):
    b83fad8fd28e637b82cb4a6bef7d6920

    Do you have the same value on your download?

    ---

    In MustangPEBuilder, under the Advanced options, check the option to Pause build before boot.wim is unloaded. Start the build normally using the Run from RAM option. When it pauses, explore to the c:\winpe_x86\mount\program files folder and see if the BSExplorer folder is there. If the folder does exist, are the contents there?
    MPEB_BSExplorer_folder.jpg

    While the build is still paused, check if the winpeshl.ini file exists in the c:\winpe_x86\mount\windows\system32 folder. If the file does exist, what are the contents? If the file doesn't exist, copy the file from the MustangBEBuilder folder and then continue the build. Does it work?
     
  14. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    The files are copied automatically. Your system is blocking the file copy commands issued by the program. Try right clicking MustangPEBuilder and hitting "Run as Administrator". If that does't work, you need to figure out what software is blocking the copy of files (anti virus, firewall, etc.)

    The Run from CD option only works if you have the Vista SP1 WAIK installed. You may have the pre SP1 WAIK to get that error. If you do have the SP1 WAIK, then again your system is blocking something.
     
  15. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46

    Same MD5

    b83fad8fd28e637b82cb4a6bef7d6920

    So the download should be good, right?

    will check the files shortly as suggested and run as administrator. Back with the results later.
     
  16. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46

    I have my anti virus turned off when I create the iso, have not tried as administrator, will try that!
     
  17. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46


    The BSExplorer exists and the contents are there.



    I cannot check for the other file because there is not a system32 folder, there are 2 system32 files:

    system32 696kb file 4-14-2008
    system32) 232kb file 4-14-2008

    when I click on these the description is Microsoft Windows Codecs Library

    If there is supposed to be a system32 folder it is not there.
     
  18. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Can you post a screenshot of the system32 files and of the System32 folder missing?
     
  19. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    You need to give up on this.
     
  20. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Why should I give up?
     
  21. curlysir

    curlysir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Here it is:

    MustangPEScreen.GIF


    Appreciate the help and your patience! You too Mustang!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.