problem configuring firewall

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Baedric, Nov 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I am trying to connect to Battlenet which requires me to:
    allow port 6112-6119 TCP and UDP out and in
    allow port 6112 TCP out and allow established session in
    allow port 4000 TCP out and in
    I must be making a mistake somewhere in the rule creation because I cannot connect and I get the searching for server screen and it times out.
    Can someone please help me set up my rules?
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Did you look at Look 'n' Stop log to see which ports are still blocked ?
    Maybe the rules are correct and some other ports are blocked.

    If you see in the log a packet with a port supposed to be open, then post a screenshot of the rule supposed to allow the port, and a screenshot of the log page.

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  3. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Thanks for your help Frederic! Here is the requested information.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    I'm not sure the blocked packets are related to BattleNet.
    These packet are incoming ping (from the routeur) and outcoming PnP.

    You can try to allow them anyway to see if it makes a difference:
    - for the ping, just remove the blocking attribute for the two existing rules: "ICMP: Allow Ping (Req)" & "ICMP: Allow Ping (Rsp)"
    - for the PnP: right click on the alert and in the menu select "Add rule for UDP SSDP/UPnP - 1900"

    After you allowed this, check again the log after trying the BattleNet connection.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  5. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Thanks for your help.
    It turns out that it is not a Look N Stop issue at all. It seems to be a Vista problem. I plan to contact Blizzard Support and try and resolve the issue.

    Thanks again!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.