PrivateFirewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by aelthir90, Mar 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aelthir90

    aelthir90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    I recently installed the latest version of PrivateFirewall to replace Comodo and originally had an install error. After uninstalling and disabling my antivirus software, I was able to install PF without error. The problem I have now is that any time I try to open the Main Menu in PF, I get a blank white window. Any others have this problem or know how to resolve it?

    Edit: If it helps, I'm running Windows 7 Professional - 64 bit
     
  2. 333

    333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    canada

    I have been using PF for a while now and have not experienced the problem that you are having. I am also on the same OS as you are.

    If I was to make a guess, I would say that you may not have removed all of Comodo firewall. I know that Comodo is hard to uninstall and you may have to search and manually remove some files. Then run a registry cleaner to get the rest.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    USA
    What AV are you using? Also Comodo has a removal tool. Try uninstalling private firewall and then running the removal tool.
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    In my opinion Privacyware doesn't reseach the free version of PFW enough in bugfixes to make sure that reported incompatibilities are corrected. Every since I had Windows 8 it never installs AT ALL, including just a few days ago so I just threw up my arms in disgust of that lingering issue and installed Online Armor just fine. I don't understand exactly why it always gives my Windows 8 system a "did not install driver" error but it was for the best I guess because AO is working to perfection and had no problem easily installing.
     
  5. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    USA Southwest
    Don't know if your issue has been resolved, or not. If you are still having that issue uninstall the AV and PFW. Search for, and remove any remnants of each. Once that has been accomplished install PFW 1st, reboot, and then install the AV. See if that does the trick.
     
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    See! There is the problem IMO. Why does PFW need to embed itself "first" before any AV install. Totally unacceptable. There's no rhyme nor reason for another security app, especially on the level of a PFW, to expect end users to do the unthinkable. Once a decent AV is installed, it can (not always) create issues uninstalling then installing again unless absolutely required by the AV vendor itself as a necessary Upgrade.

    PFW is been a huge thorn in the side for my Windows 8 where it should only be a simple matter to install instead of giving off errors why it can't. Pffffttt!
     
  7. RealNature

    RealNature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    So is there any news about a new update? Does anyone know?
     
  8. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    What was the problem with comodo firewall which made you switch.?
     
  9. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    Can you guys confirm/deny I'm thinking right: process monitor is private firewall's HIPS ?
     
  10. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    USA
    Have been using PrivateFirewall for quite some time with XP and love it. Extremely light on system resources and a very effective firewall.
     
  11. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Yes it is.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.