PrivateFirewall - unable to send Ping

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Frank648, Nov 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frank648

    Frank648 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Hi,

    using PrivateFirewall_7.0.27.1, I am unable to send a Ping.
    Neither via DOS-Box nor WS PingPro (older program).
    Closing the PF, it will work ok.

    Entries in Application Window show
    Outgoing Allow UDP (17) from local (1024-65535) to remote (53)
    Proto: UDP (17)
    TCP/UDP/ICMP settings: 1024-65535 (user): 53
    Action: Allow
    H and L Boxes: ticked

    Process Monitor Window shows # of rules 30, all allow

    Guess, I am missing a rule for that outgoing Ping.
    Anyone here could help me with that?
    I have no idea how to create one :oops:

    Thank you
    Frank
     
  2. Spiedbot

    Spiedbot Guest

  3. Frank648

    Frank648 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Well, thank you, Spiedbot

    Problem is:
    the ICMP section under Applications is grayed out :(

    This FW evidently does not support ICMP.
    The Manual doesn't even mention it...
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  4. Spiedbot

    Spiedbot Guest

    Salut,


    I already tried with PFW, try again, ICMP is configurable.
     
  5. Frank648

    Frank648 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    OK, thanks all for elaborate help :thumb:

    ICMP won't work.
    I gonna dump this FW and look for one that works.

    Frank
     
  6. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Try Outpost Free. Works great for me.
     
  7. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Your have add the above mentioned ICMP firewall rule for ping under the System application if I remember correctly.

    See this: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2044408&postcount=27.

    Note there are two rules for ICMP; one for inbound and one for outbound. Modify accordingly.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
  8. Frank648

    Frank648 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Thank you for helping, itman

    After a computer restart, it suddenly worked.
    Don't know why, guess it was using the system application.
    Sunday is saved :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  9. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    One other important point for people using Privatewall might not be aware of.

    PF settings especially those pertaining to firewall rules do not take effect instantly. PF requires a certain period of time to process the changes. Why I don't know. That is just how the product works. This fact is important for people who make a PF change and then immediately reboot or shut down their PC. You reboot and discover your change didn't not take. Immediately people think PF has an issue.

    The best policy when making a PF change is wait at least 5 and preferably 10 mins. before a system restart or shutdown. Also verify your change in PF before restart or shutdown.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.