Private Firewall Version 7.030.2 is out

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by beethoven, Oct 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    I got an alert from my program that a new version is out
    http://www.privacyware.com/PF_support.html

    and came here for further info.
    In the past there was a pretty active thread that always advised on new versions. I am surprised that I can't find this thread. I do remember there was a local hero, very active and always helpful and very knowledgeable about this firewall. Too bad I can't remember his name - so have I missed something? I am not having any problems with the firewall and would normally just update. Still I like to study some feedback first.
     
  2. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    Ha! you beat me to it, just exported then imported my settings, everything seems to be running fine..:)

    *edit: If you've not saved your settings before just bring up Privatefirewall click on file, in the drop down click on export settings they'll be saved to your documents "in XP" then after you reinstall your new firewall click on file again click on import settings and your done..:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2013
  3. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,188
    A few questions regarding Private firewall.

    Is it possible to turn off logging and also is it doing much writing to HD?
    I am just thinking about that new HD type that allows only a limited amount of rewrites.

    Is it causing conflicts with Sandboxie and Avast?

    Also can you make executable rules like svchost.exe be Windows service based, meaning if you need allow something out or listening through that, it is restricted to special service needed.

    I am interested, since TinyWall as nice as it is has a GUI stability quite harmless issue with password locking and one dangerous option existing. Unblocking a blocked connection from Connections window can corrupt TinyWall. That is a big bug but I can live with it since I know not to use it when I am not behind my cable cable modem router connection.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2013
  4. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    There was a day when i probably could have given you a pat answer but with all of these new configurations my advice is to install it and go from there. Haven't used Avast but i do use Sandboxie and so far there have been no conflicts..;)
     
  5. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    I never used Private Firewall. It's a classical HIPS as OA and CIS ?
     
  6. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,188
    Good to hear that Sandboxie is coexisting fine with your PC.

    The reason for my last question is that I ran my Windows 7 over a year with just Windows firewall and with default settings. I am not sure if my computer is still "clean". I mean it has no viruses detected by avast or mbam, but I felt 2 times hacked sort of :(

    http://www.saunalahti.fi/~jarmos3/TinyWall_rules.jpg

    TinyWall has a limited set allowed, not sure how quite limited since System seems allowed a lot etc. System being ntoskrnl.exe I think.

    I have tried Comodo and Online Armor and ZoneAlarm. They all depend much on HIPS part because they can't filter svchost service based otherwise as well as TinyWall. And the problem is there is a learning period and they assume a clean computer. Also I have had conflicts with OA and Comodo with Sandboxie.

    Is there also a learning phase with Private firewall or instead one that only allows a limited set or a known good "set" to make normal internet activity possible?
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    I would say yes, but without file/folder protection.

    There is, but disabled by default and it doesn't ask you if you want to use it after you installed PFW. You can enable it and set the duration of the training period if I'm not mistaken.
     
  8. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,504
    PF informed me of the update this morning. D/l and installed and got this error (Install Error 0x80170002). Not had this problem with the previous version. Maybe it is because of Avast.

    Has anyone else come across this?
     
  9. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    I'm a novice when it comes to this firewall just started using it the other day. The link beethoven provided has an excellent manual in PDF, look at the top of the page. I've used those other firewalls as well, Outpost is another great firewall i was using it just before trying this application. You say you had the Windows 7 firewall running, I've heard that's an excellent firewall, plus its not 3rd party..:)
     
  10. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    As per installation: We also advise temporarily disabling any antivirus or other active anti-malware or HIPS software until the Privatefirewall installation process has completed.

    So yes its probably Avast causing that error..;)
     
  11. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    I think Private Firewall is based on Process Anomally detection. I'm not sure its a classical based hips entirely. Its a nice firewall but installing is a bit difficult sometimes. The computer will undoubtedly become noresponsive for a while after you install it. I don't know why. It has a firewall log and allows a person to block sites on an individual basis. It will run with Avast nicely. In combination with Panda cloud AV it really runs light. I don't think it offers any web protection. I once ran it on a VM with windows 8> It worked great! The Private Firewall advocate that you remember is perhaps Bellgamin.
     
  12. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,002
    Location:
    USA
    So, do I understand that this requires a clean install (uninstalling previous version and installing the new version)?
     
  13. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    That's the way i did mine by way of uninstall clean install R&R. As for Woody I'm not sure why your machine became unresponsive mine didn't hiccup once. Most of the difficulties I've seen come from other applications interfering with the process, such as an antivirus engine running when it shouldn't.. ;)
     
  14. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,504
    Thanks. I had another look at it and this time totally disabled Avast. PF then installed ok.
     
  15. ginzon

    ginzon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    80
    Simple Question... Has anyone tested the test files failed at Matousec?

    I'm planning to switch from Private...
     
  16. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Process Anomaly Detection module is just rebuilt Dynamic Security Agent that was few years ago developed by Privacyware as the standalone application. DSA was commonly classified the BB.
     
  17. RealNature

    RealNature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Can anyone tell if the new version of PF work without any issue with the new avast 2014 free rc3?
     
  18. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    USA Southwest
    Haven't had any issues with it on my setup so far.
     
  19. RealNature

    RealNature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Ok under windows xp I know is working quite well with avast, but on vista/7 I know because of avast webshield some application can connect to internet even if you make rules to block the internet access for that app.
     
  20. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I believe the webshield function has been changed in the new version and so should not cause any further issues.
     
  21. RealNature

    RealNature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Thank you for your note, but that change from what I discussed on avast forum mostly refer to the new webshield driver that is implemented specially for W8> not for <,= W7. And that is why I didn't try this combo, till anyone can confirm me Solved/Same.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.