Privacyware

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by zip, Apr 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Privacyware knows that their firewall doesn't stealth ports and they wont fix it.

    They don't care. Very poor support.
     
  2. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Isn't that the main purpose of a firewall....
     
  3. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Im running PFW (all settings high), with Avira free (set to high heuristic detection), Sandboxie free, Emet, Open dns, Dnscrypt, Hardenit, on w7 64 bit.
    I stealth Shields Up, and PCFlank, I also pass vulnerability tests.

    With PFW i set everything to filter... is that advisable?
    No problems so far.
    Also, i cant see how to set svchost as outgoing only...
    Help?
    Also, I ran comodo leak test sandboxed and it gained me 40 points (from 280 to 320).
    Comments?
    I was thinking if i could isolate vulnerabilities, it would help.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  4. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Okay i too was having problems with PFW stealthing the ports.
    However i disagree with you on your view of the privacyware support.It was the best support i have ever experienced from any vendor and greg was extremely helpful in trying to resolve my issue.sadly i could not get my issue solved.
    I was probably not configuring it correctly and i didnt give it enough chances.
    The support was excellent from my experience.
     
  5. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Stealthing ports? No it isn't.
     
  6. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Stealthing is not important.
    Closed is.:)
     
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    The OP doesn't seem to know it yet....
     
  8. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    I am also using PFW. Are you sure its not stealthing ports? I am behind a router so who knows. I agree that the support is phenominal,the developer really cares. I am sure he would become involved and if he could fix it he would. For me the important thing is that it works well with other security Apps & recognizes new applications in a timely matter. In other words it doesn t freeze up the computer. A bunch of these other "Super " Firewalls do bring my Windows 7 x 64 to a dead stop. The latest to do this was Zone Alarm. I am starting to believe that when you get a firewall that will work with your installation you should use it. The next time you install the same product it may not work at all. Stealthing ports is the least of my worrys.
     
  9. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Stealthing is pointless imo. When an attacker pings a stealthed port he gets no response. That tells him it's a stealthed port, because if there was truly nothing there he'd get a "Destination Unreachable" response.

    If the port is closed he'll get a response saying the port is closed.

    Both stealthed and closed tell the attacker the same thing.

    That's why Privacyware "doesn't care".
     
  10. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    I haven't used it since I went from XP to Win7....I do know that when it was in training mode it wasn't stealthed...But once I took it out of training mode it was, at least according to GRC.


    Oh, and I found their customer service second to none, which when you consider PFW is freeware is remarkable.
     
  11. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    I won't reply on topic as this one has been beaten to death on several occasions. Just a few remarks -

    You cannot ping ports, there are no port values in ICMP headers. It's a network layer protocol.

    If an attacker pings a system and gets a "destination unreachable" than either the system is really not there or it is configured to not reply to pings. A "destination unreachable" message is sent by the last router (not the system itself) on the way to target system.

    Cheers,
     
  12. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,088
    no ip unreachables anyone? Or is that on the hit list too?
     
  13. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Here we go again ...........

    If your behind a router with a firewall, you have to turn off the router's firewall while running the stealth test. If you don't, what is being reported by whatever stealth test you are running is that the router's firewall ports aren't stealth.
     
  14. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    Thanks for 'going again'...I for one didn't know that, have you ever gleaned knowledge about something you didn't know from this site?.....I find it excellent for getting myself informed personally.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.