Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.61

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Triple Helix, Jan 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.62

    Working well and will test my banking problems that I had! I guess we will have to wait for a change log.

    TH

    EDIT: It is now version 3.0.5.62
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.62

    Still having problems with entering info on my HTTPS Banking websites with IE8, Firefox 3.6 and Opera 10.10! I did a reboot and still have problems! Thought it could be my BlueTooth Keyboard but tried the laptop keyboard and still will not let me fill in all the card info or all of the password. Again tried tuning the settings to no avail! The only way is to disable SafeOnline :(

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    Hello all,
    This new version introduces a major shift in Prevx which I'm sure you all will enjoy :) We have now vastly simplified our download process so I can proudly show this as the only URL for the beta:

    http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta

    If you run this version on a x64 PC, it will allow you to then download the 64bit version, simplifying the installation process significantly.

    Additionally, I suspect you will be pleased to see that Prevx is now available in:

    - English
    - French
    - German
    - Dutch
    - Spanish
    - Italian
    - Korean
    - Chinese Simplified
    - Chinese Traditional

    If you currently have Prevx installed in the default English version, you should uninstall it and then install it directly from this beta link. If your OS is non-English, Prevx will show you a language selection dialog where you can then choose what language you want to install it in. It should automatically select a language close to your current system language so the process should be easy to work with.

    Additionally, this version adds a number of improvements throughout, improving x64 support with SafeOnline, improving the breadth of scanning locally, and and fixing compatibility issues with iType, some Logitech components, some printers, and improving Windows 2000 support.

    Please let me know if you have any questions or comments on the new version! Thanks as always for the testing :thumb:
     
  4. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    very nice :p

    just french gui issue because text is very longer :

    example :
    2.png

    there are more menu and options were cuting
     
  5. noel1947

    noel1947 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Australia
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    Hi

    Build 60 has fixed all printing problems in Firefox and IE that I had been experiencing since SafeOnline was introduced.

    Great support as usual by Prevx in finding a solution that caused problems for myself and I am sure, many others.

    noel1947
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    In german language GUI it's the same like dorgane noticed for french version, words are too long and then simply cutted out. That needs some additional work of course to look professional. Or sometimes it's a mix between english/german. ;) In general it's quite funny (or better irritating ;) ) to see this program finally in your own language, translated by someone who has for sure german roots but who's tongue ... well ... got somehow 'rusty' over time. :D

    But however:

    Thanks for this multilanguage GUI as many Prevx customers don't understand english! :thumb:
    (And now thx to denglish maybe they have at least a clue what's going on. :D )

    ***

    That said - just for starters - I have already 2 complaints: ;)

    1.) I entered my license in first screen (3rd tab) when installing
    this brandnew version from scratch. But it wasn't registered after
    'learning scan' (or the funny german equivalent ;) ). Had to
    enter my license again. That should be a bug.

    2.) On my own system I can for a while and some versions of Prevx
    use Hypersnap to make screenshots regardless if maximum protection
    should stop me from that when having browser open with https site or
    for example prevx.com.

    I tested that just yesterday with previous build 50 on another system
    via remote control and there I got always (!) black screens exactly
    as it should be (in teamviewer and doing local snapshots with hypersnap).
    That was great to see that protection working! ;)

    So my point is again ... sorry! ;) ... this screengrab blocking function
    is NOT (always) working as it should, at least not on MY system.
    So this should be addressed in future versions, let me know if I
    can be of any help in solving this mystery. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. guest

    guest Guest

    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    Now I tested the new build 60 and this scenario on that same system again
    and guess what: no black screen anymore! (not in teamviewer
    through remote control or because of Hypersnap doing local snapshots).

    => Conclusion: I really don't understand what is going on with SafeOnline. :rolleyes:

    p.s.: On another system (this time Vista SP2 instead of WinXP SP3) all is
    working fine, I had black screens with teamviewer and Hypersnap as it is
    supposed to be! - So there is definitely an issue that has to be looked at!
    ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2010
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    Hello all,
    Regarding text size and parts of it being cut off: we're working on improving this but there is a limit to how much we can do, unfortunately. Every language has different spacing and many of them are significantly longer than English.

    If you have any suggestions on how to shrink specific parts of the text into your native languages, it would be much appreciated :)

    Thanks again!
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    Teamviewer on XP SP3 uses a different technique which SafeOnline allows through as it can identify it as legitimate, however, we're currently investigating Hypersnap on XP SP3 (to clarify - are you using 32bit XP or 64bit?)

    Thanks :)
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    The strange thing is in version 50 it didn't allow it through though
    on that xp sp3 machine I was talking about. o_O

    All those systems I tested it with are 32-bit, two XP SP3 and one Vista SP 2. Don't know anybody that has 64-bit else I would have tested this also of course. And please don't forget: Hypersnap isn't stopped also by maximum SafeOnline on my own 32-bit Win 7 Ultimate.

    I will try to find some shorter wording. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2010
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    Just was going to install the english version to help me finding shorter translations etc. ... BUT :D

    -> found out: I can't uninstall this new build no matter what I try. Prior to that I just removed it while it was running through 'software' ... the normal way you know ... but that doesn't work here anymore? Even not if I lower self defence to minimum or try to shut it completely down ... it's like a zombie .. always coming back! :D

    WTH? ;)

    p.s.: Finally I got rid of it! :D - It didn't work like before (software section from windows) but I found an uninstall link in programs section that did the job. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2010
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  13. qpok

    qpok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    Not to go too OT but this just reminds me so much of the Stackoverflow question What are the worst problems in game design? and the answer: "Localization. Have fun with your hard-coded button sizes, as soon as the German Localization will need to change the "Minor Health Potion" to a "Schwachen Trank der Lebensenergie-Wiederherstellung", either you or the customer will suffer. (Luckily for the programmer, usually the customer suffers)".

    Personally I'd much rather see truncated strings with full text tooltip on mouseover than overlapping text (or odd wordings where you end up when trying to force meaning into a too short sentence).
     
  14. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    huge new version:D
    fantastic work prevx
    finally i have dutch:)
    version .61 running smootly for me so far no issue's:)
    keep it up this fantastic work!!:D
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.60

    :D We definitely don't want the customer to suffer - text tooltips on overlaps are what we're planning to implement but there is quite a lot of work to be done to get to that stage.
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've just finished extensively testing Hypersnap on Win7 and Vista and -cannot- find any case where it is able to grab screen contents on a SafeOnline secured page o_O

    guest - if you are still experiencing these issues, could we try a remote support session to find out what the cause is?
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well it seams that my Banking problems are over as Joe and I had a remote session last night he found some possible problems in my scan log and he fixed them and working very well ATM no more missed characters when Typing my card info and passwords!

    Thanks Joe!

    TH
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes, I really would like to show you how there is no black screen.
    And hopefully no blue also if you do your thing. ;-)

    You have a pm.
     
  19. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Hi there, really like this, thanks.
    Just found on Settings>Prevx SafeOnline>Advanced>Scanning Options drop-down- 5/15/30 mins ok, then these symbols.
    Thanks,
    Dermot.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.62

    Yes I can confirm this!

    TH

    EDIT: Still in new version 3.0.5.62!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  21. guest

    guest Guest

    Wow .. that was a fast remote session! ;-)
    And there is already build 62.

    But since I restored my registry I have
    this left over entry (which caused
    my hypersnap problem) again.

    Joe, could you please PM me what
    registry entry I have to delete again?

    Or should it work now if I uninstall build 62
    and install it after reboot from scratch?

    p.s.: Uninstall not possible on this way (see screenshot).

    p.p.s.: Never mind my question above,
    build 62 works fine now after I uninstalled build 61,
    rebooted and reinstalled build 62.


    Then changed between HIGH and MAXIMUM
    while testing screen grabbing protection,
    had to close browser inbetween and the black
    screen happened to show (or not) always exactly
    when it should -> GREAT! :)

    Confidence in SafeOnline restored! :D
    (Joe-Support is as always exceptional! :thumb: )
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.62

    See this post! https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1537841&postcount=2

    TH
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes, but exactly this doesn't work (here) anymore since a few builds! (Win7) :D
    Doing it via start menue (uninstall entry) works.
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: Prevx with SafeOnline 3.0.5.62

    I was thinking of this just in case!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    And I just followed that advice from your quote! ;)

    Problem here really isn't to find a way to uninstall - thanks for your link! - but that it not works anymore as it should. If it should. Maybe they changed that intentionally .. who knows. -> I don't. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.