Prevx SOL and Private Firewall

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Rilla927, Dec 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Is anyone here running Private Firewall with SOL? If so, do they get a long?
     
  2. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Bump, anyone.
     
  3. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I'm not running it but it is a firewall with HIPS so it should run just fine. I am running OA Premium with full HIPS and there is no problem at all. Just put it in learning mode for a bit...:cool:
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I agree the only problem Prevx has is with sandboxes I did try OA and had no problems!

    TH
     
  5. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    At the time I had it installed I also had Kaspersky AV 2011, SOL and the FW kept freezing on Win 7 64bit... so I wasn't sure if (I knew there was a conflict with Kav) SOL was also conflicting with it also.

    I guess I'm gonna have to try it again with out Kav and see. I thought maybe someone else were running it. Hopefully learning mode will work this time.

    Thanks
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    If that is the case and if you have any problems please follow the instructions in this post to send a Prevx scan log: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TH ;)
     
  7. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Okay, thanks I surely will.
     
  8. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    On the sandbox thing will Prevx get along with Defensewall? I'm thinking of taking it for a spin...:eek:
     
  9. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Prevx is working very well here along with DefenseWall Personal Firewall.
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Prevx & Defensewall are friends - great. Theres a great deal now on Softpedia...:thumb:
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    With the sandboxes such as Sandboxie and the Sandbox in Avast 5 and maybe some others the only problem is Prevx SafeOnline needs access to the OS to work in the Browser which the sandbox blocks but the Anti-Malware part there is no effect on it and will continue to protect you against malware! And I see that Boyfriend answered your Question about Defensewall!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  12. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Yes, they work fine together, no conflicts.
     
  13. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Thanks Scoobs, are you using 32bit or 64bit?
     
  14. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Thanks for the tip. I planned on installing this combo on my sister-inlaw's computer.
     
  15. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Training mode doesn't stay on in PF. It really aggravates me, everytime I check it, it's not in training mode. Can't get it to stay on for the life of meo_O
     
  16. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    @Triple Helix

    Well, I have them both running together and there is no conflict. Kaspersky was soley the culprit.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to here you have that sorted! ;)

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.