Prevx SOL and Private Firewall

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Rilla927, Dec 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    Is anyone here running Private Firewall with SOL? If so, do they get a long?
     
  2. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    Bump, anyone.
     
  3. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I'm not running it but it is a firewall with HIPS so it should run just fine. I am running OA Premium with full HIPS and there is no problem at all. Just put it in learning mode for a bit...:cool:
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,558
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I agree the only problem Prevx has is with sandboxes I did try OA and had no problems!

    TH
     
  5. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    At the time I had it installed I also had Kaspersky AV 2011, SOL and the FW kept freezing on Win 7 64bit... so I wasn't sure if (I knew there was a conflict with Kav) SOL was also conflicting with it also.

    I guess I'm gonna have to try it again with out Kav and see. I thought maybe someone else were running it. Hopefully learning mode will work this time.

    Thanks
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,558
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    If that is the case and if you have any problems please follow the instructions in this post to send a Prevx scan log: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TH ;)
     
  7. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    Okay, thanks I surely will.
     
  8. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    On the sandbox thing will Prevx get along with Defensewall? I'm thinking of taking it for a spin...:eek:
     
  9. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Prevx is working very well here along with DefenseWall Personal Firewall.
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Prevx & Defensewall are friends - great. Theres a great deal now on Softpedia...:thumb:
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,558
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    With the sandboxes such as Sandboxie and the Sandbox in Avast 5 and maybe some others the only problem is Prevx SafeOnline needs access to the OS to work in the Browser which the sandbox blocks but the Anti-Malware part there is no effect on it and will continue to protect you against malware! And I see that Boyfriend answered your Question about Defensewall!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  12. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Yes, they work fine together, no conflicts.
     
  13. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    Thanks Scoobs, are you using 32bit or 64bit?
     
  14. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    Thanks for the tip. I planned on installing this combo on my sister-inlaw's computer.
     
  15. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    Training mode doesn't stay on in PF. It really aggravates me, everytime I check it, it's not in training mode. Can't get it to stay on for the life of meo_O
     
  16. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,735
    @Triple Helix

    Well, I have them both running together and there is no conflict. Kaspersky was soley the culprit.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,558
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to here you have that sorted! ;)

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.