Prevx Saitek software contains malware

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by rebelscum0000, Feb 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rebelscum0000

    rebelscum0000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hi,
    I downloaded from saitek.com , and I installed the SST Software V.6.6.6.9 in C:\WINDOWS\Temp\Saitek\Saitek_Cyborg_V3_Pad_SD6_32_Software\00000010\
    the dll setup_0a.dll is detected as malware, here is the Prevx Log:

    Prevx Scan Log - Version v3.0.5.220
    Log Generated: 10/2/2011 17:58, Type: 0,1
    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (Build 2600) 32bit|1033
    Hostname: User
    Some non-malicious files are not included in this log.
    Heuristics Settings: Age: 1, Pop: 1, Heu: 2 (Dir: 1)
    Last Scan: Thu 2011-02-10 17:58:00 Mexico Standard Time. Number of Scans: 43. Last Scan Duration: 3 minutes 18 seconds.
    c:\windows\temp\saitek\saitek_cyborg_v3_pad_sd6_32_software\00000010\setup_0a.dll [PX5: 768B3E5600BCE94770130994AE1F5E0088C1AFAA] Malware Group: Medium Risk Malware
    (ACTIVE) c:\windows\system32\nvmccs.dll [PX5: 229758476891597A3CDC0463DC68D400BF05487E]
    (ACTIVE) c:\program files\agnitum\out

    End of Prevx Scan Log - http://www.prevx.com

    Please note I did not include all the log is very large

    Why Saitek includes in their software malware?

    the setup_0a.dll is listed in driverscollection.com

    Also I uploaded to VT the file and have the same results:
    ~snipped as per forum policy~ TH

    I sent an email to techsupport@madcatz.com in order to answer my question.

    As soon as they reply I will let you know

    Second

    In the contact Saitek form is not included Mexico, WHY?

    I can see Spain, so Saitek has to have support in Spanish, If Saitek think in Mexico we not buy, trade or sell Saitek products they are wrong

    http://listado.mercadolibre.com.mx/Saitek

    Ok this not eBay but Mexicans know about Saitek

    Malware in their software
    and no Mexico support listed!! for me Saitek is not a serious company

    Now what I should do? Can I open Eset windows, go to Quarantine and add the file dll setup_0a.dll? will be fine this way?

    Thanks in advance for any help you can provide me
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2011
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've fixed the FP, but in the future, please report false positives directly to report@prevxresearch.com so that our research team will be able to correct them :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.