Prevx Saitek software contains malware

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by rebelscum0000, Feb 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rebelscum0000

    rebelscum0000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hi,
    I downloaded from saitek.com , and I installed the SST Software V.6.6.6.9 in C:\WINDOWS\Temp\Saitek\Saitek_Cyborg_V3_Pad_SD6_32_Software\00000010\
    the dll setup_0a.dll is detected as malware, here is the Prevx Log:

    Prevx Scan Log - Version v3.0.5.220
    Log Generated: 10/2/2011 17:58, Type: 0,1
    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (Build 2600) 32bit|1033
    Hostname: User
    Some non-malicious files are not included in this log.
    Heuristics Settings: Age: 1, Pop: 1, Heu: 2 (Dir: 1)
    Last Scan: Thu 2011-02-10 17:58:00 Mexico Standard Time. Number of Scans: 43. Last Scan Duration: 3 minutes 18 seconds.
    c:\windows\temp\saitek\saitek_cyborg_v3_pad_sd6_32_software\00000010\setup_0a.dll [PX5: 768B3E5600BCE94770130994AE1F5E0088C1AFAA] Malware Group: Medium Risk Malware
    (ACTIVE) c:\windows\system32\nvmccs.dll [PX5: 229758476891597A3CDC0463DC68D400BF05487E]
    (ACTIVE) c:\program files\agnitum\out

    End of Prevx Scan Log - http://www.prevx.com

    Please note I did not include all the log is very large

    Why Saitek includes in their software malware?

    the setup_0a.dll is listed in driverscollection.com

    Also I uploaded to VT the file and have the same results:
    ~snipped as per forum policy~ TH

    I sent an email to techsupport@madcatz.com in order to answer my question.

    As soon as they reply I will let you know

    Second

    In the contact Saitek form is not included Mexico, WHY?

    I can see Spain, so Saitek has to have support in Spanish, If Saitek think in Mexico we not buy, trade or sell Saitek products they are wrong

    http://listado.mercadolibre.com.mx/Saitek

    Ok this not eBay but Mexicans know about Saitek

    Malware in their software
    and no Mexico support listed!! for me Saitek is not a serious company

    Now what I should do? Can I open Eset windows, go to Quarantine and add the file dll setup_0a.dll? will be fine this way?

    Thanks in advance for any help you can provide me
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2011
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,559
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've fixed the FP, but in the future, please report false positives directly to report@prevxresearch.com so that our research team will be able to correct them :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.