Prevx RC 3.0.4.183

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by PrevxHelp, Sep 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    I'm pleased to post the first public download to new users of the new Prevx RC:

    32bit: http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta (ignore the "edgebeta" part of the URL - this download is RC1 :))
    64bit: http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta64 (the web security functionality is not 64bit compatible yet but there are significant improvements "under-the-hood" of Prevx for 64bit still)

    We had Immunity Inc. review the technical proficiency of the secured browsing provided by Prevx in this document: http://pxnow.prevx.com/zeroL/SecureBrowserWhitePaper.pdf

    You "can" upgrade your existing installation to this build but it will automatically disable the new browser security features so it may be best to uninstall and the install this build fresh to get a better feel for the functionality right out-of-the-box.

    You will need to close/restart open browser instances to receive the full protection benefits (which will be outlined in some third party whitepapers coming soon.

    Current known issues/incompatibilities are:
    - Incompatibility with Opera v10
    - Incompatibility with Sandboxie
    - Some issues with cookie cleaners
    - Incomplete Safari support
    - An intermittent issue loading PDF files in Adobe Reader on Windows 7
    - Incompatibility with KeyScrambler because of similar technology being used
    - Tab positioning issues on some Firefox installations
    - Some logical issues adding protection/removing protection
    - Partial incompatibility with KeePass/KeeForm
    - Browser protection will be merged with the Stop Protection in Prevx to allow the user to take screenshots if wanted
    - Incompatibility with BS Player PRO
    - Conceptual incompatibility with screen readers
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2009
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    As a quick test, could you click the browser dropdown tab and see if it says: "Hypervisor Detected - Your browsing may be monitored" below the "Add Protection" button?

    We have generic reporting in place to alert users if they may be compromised by a hypervisor rootkit (or intentionally using a product like VMWare/VirtualPC).

    Thanks! :)
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    In IE/FF/Opera/Chrome, Prevx 3.0.4.183 will show a small tab above the address bar if you have the feature "Web Browser Security" enabled on the front screen of Prevx (you'll see it with a green checkmark, if not, click "Configure", then double click "Basic Configuration" and select "Enable the Prevx Secure Browser" and "Block phishing and known malicious websites" and then click "Save").

    Let me know if you see anything behave differently than this and I'll investigate further :)
     
  4. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    One initial observation is that the positioning of the Prevx Tab (shown if selected) seems a little random and where it appears in both IE & FF is a bit of a nuisance. Any way of selecting its placement or could it appear as a mre regular button in the task bar...that would be most helpful. ;)
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We currently don't have the ability to configure the placement of the tab. It should sit either directly above the address bar or within the title bar of the window.

    We're very open to any suggestions, however. Would you prefer if the tab itself floated outside of the window, attached at the top or do you think it would work better within the window title bar always?

    The tab actually is not a browser component (we don't use any BHOs or inherently browser-dependent technology in our web security) so we can't integrate directly with the browser buttons which is why we have looked for a different position to put it in, and above the address bar seemed like the best place in our focus group tests.
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You should be able to untick the "Enable the Prevx Secure Browser" box and "Block phishing and known malicious websites" box to disable the protection (the checkmark will turn into a red X).

    It is admittedly not the most elegant configuration option and we will work on making a much easier: "it is on/it is off" button :)
     
  7. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Understood, except given what else I have installed in FF it sits way over to the right just next to (rather than above) the Google search bar whilst the address bar is way over to the left? Funnily enough in IE it seems to be position above the Address bar

    Not sure what you mean by this but I think it should be situated or float where it is unlikely to get the way or obscure other features...perhaps floating above the navigation bar...which generally does not have more that File, Edit, View, History, Bookmarks, etc. in it which are all way over to the left?

    Understand.

    :D
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you possibly post/send me a screen shot? I suspect this is an actual bug in the processing of tab placement rather than something we're intentionally doing as it does sound quite odd! Thanks :)

    tab.png
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm using v2.0.0.20 of firefox!
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    In Firefox mine is sitting pretty much in the Google search box.
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yours is appearing there intentionally - we put it in the browser title bar if we can't find where to put it within the window (there isn't a way to tell Firefox to just put something on top of the address bar so we have to do some odd things to actually -find- the address bar in the window :D). Non-standard skins can throw this off which is why we just put it in a known-reliable place.

    The protection will still work exactly the same, just the tab is a bit oddly placed. Let me know your thoughts on this and if you have any other suggestions!
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Here is IE8!
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    I was too late for version 3.0.4.182. ;)

    Here are some screenshots of the upgrade install monitored by my HIPS.

    I am using Opera 10 Alpha in this snapshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's fine for me as is!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Opera 10!
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Here's a pic of Firefox with Prevx browser bar.

    Prevx Browser copy.jpg
     
  17. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    Prevx is showing the Secure Browser is running, but I cannot get it to respond to the the click on Configure as per the attached screenshot.

    Joe...any ideas? :)
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Tarnak,

    Did you read the first post?

    TH
     
  19. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Looks ok to me and i've got a lot tweaked:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    That's quite ugly! I'll see what we can do to fix that :) Could you let me know what build of Firefox/OS/Firefox skin/(OS skin?) you have so I can replicate it here to fix it?

    Thanks! :)
     
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    Hi Triple Helix,

    No, as usual I dived straight in. :rolleyes:

    I will now uninstall and install this build fresh.;)

    Thanks. :)
     
  22. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Firefox build 3.5.2 OS is XP Pro SP3 Firefox in screenie is using the default skin. I have tried it in a couple others and the same thing. Prevx bar laying back in the Google box.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great :thumb:
     
  24. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thank you for the information! I think the root issue is actually caused from your OS skin (your start button/taskbar looks very... halloween :D) Could you let me know what the name of the visual style you have installed is?

    Thanks! :)
     
  25. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Joe

    Apologies for the delay in getting back but Threedog's screenshot is almost identical to what I would have sent...so +1 here. I am running FF3.5.2 with the default skin...no changes.

    Funnily enough in IE 7 the positioning is perfect...stuck to the top right of the address bar.

    Cheers


    Balders ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.