Prevx Edge Problem

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by AndyXS, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    I have a small problem with PrevX Edge. Prevx is running but it doesn't display the system tray icon even though it is setup to do so. If I untick the setting, save, the tick it again, save, the icon shows. Why doesn't it just show the first time?
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Could you please let me know what operating system you're using and what other security products you're using as well? The icon should appear within ~10 seconds of bootup/logon automatically but we have had a couple reports of users with problems with the tray icon, just not enough to actually narrow down the issue currently.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i experience this before and not only with prevx but couple more security apps when running the new winpatrol plus with blocking all changes made in the system,i changed the configuration for winpatrol and allow all and it was fine:thumb:
     
  4. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    I am using Vista, also have running: DefenseWall, PCTools Firewall, Prevx, Gdata
     
  5. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i also has problem with pctools firewall when prevx is on,so deleted pctools and got my malware defender firewall and it was fine after that too;)
     
  7. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    As long as prevx.exe is running in the processes, am I still ok?
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ah i see,so there is no more delays?
     
  9. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Ive got the same detection today, its 100% false positive. Ive marked it as one so to be ignored yet the main GUI then turns blue and says Scan Required(i think not) - also Joe i think the green dot in the icon should also then turn blue?

    Thanks,

    Ges
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    The WinRar FMT files are indeed a false positive - there is a rootkit infection going around which shares almost all of the same code as the .fmt files which is why we picked them up, but they're fixed now :) Thanks for the reports!
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    A scan is required after changing a determination with an override just to make sure it updates the signatures across the whole system. After the scan finishes, the dot will change back to green (but currently we don't have it changing to blue, just black). I'll see what our graphic designer can do about making a blue dot :D
     
  12. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    How does Prevx Edge work?

    How exactly does Prevx Edge work? Am I right in saying that when Prevx Edge scans your files and checks them against an online database. If the file is found to be malicious then prevx will remove it. What happens when Prevx comes across files which are unknown to the online database, does it upload the file to the server for checking?

    I would expect if I had a exe virus sitting on my desktop then prevx would be able to detect this like a normal anti-virus scanner. However, lets say this virus injects itself into a normal system dll file. What happens then? Does prevx see the dll as being ok?

    Thanks
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello AndyXS,

    Since you have an ongoing thread concerning Prevx, your latest post was merged here.
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: How does Prevx Edge work?

    There are many facets to how we analyze an unknown program. First we will submit a small amount of data about the program to the database which is then analyzed, allowing us to block a high number of new infections automatically. Then, in some cases, we will upload the entire file for server-side analysis (but this is more rare).

    We have an entire dedicated engine devoted to finding modified system files and repairing them using clean copies which we host centrally so I suspect we would find/prevent/repair that infection quite well :)
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: How does Prevx Edge work?

    That is real awesome Joe! That's what AV's Lack.

    TH
     
  16. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Impressive!

    There are a lot of exploits for IE and Adobe Reader at the mo, would prevx detect/prevent these attacks too?
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it would! Here is a small list just in one day have a look! http://www.prevx.com/malwarecenter.asp

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.