Prevx Edge Problem

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by AndyXS, Mar 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    I am using the new Prevx Edge 3 but my anti-virus program has marked and deleted one of the Prevx files. I have tried re-installing Prevx but it just opens the application. Is this file important and how do I replace it? If possible could someone please attach it.

    In archive: C:\ProgramData\PrevxCSI\qc.csi
    Status: Virus detected
    Virus: Gen:Trojan.Heur.C84BB4A2A2 (Engine A)

    Thanks
     
  2. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    What antivirus are you using? I am guessing it is GData or Bullguard**?
     
  3. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    GData
     
  4. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok, did you download Prevx Edge from the main website?
     
  5. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Yes, why?
     
  6. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    This is not a false positive - qc.csi is the Edge quarantine. Some antivirus programs detect the quarantine files even though they are encrypted and disabled. You may want to add the qc.csi file to the ignore list of your AV :)
     
  8. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    Is there also a way to exclude certain file types? So *.csi are not scanned or detected.
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It depends on the vendor - the issue is from another vendor detecting Edge's quarantine, not the other way around :) I believe most vendors do allow you to exclude a folder of files (Edge's quarantine always exists in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\PrevxCSI\ or C:\ProgramData\PrevxCSI, depending on your operating system).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.