Prevx "Bug" Reports

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Triple Helix, Jun 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    I don't mean to be ignorant, but what does that mean? :)
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,764
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As CloneRanger said!

    TH

    Capture19-11-2010-11.13.24 PM.jpg
     
  3. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    I understood the gist of what CloneRanger was saying, however, I must say that a picture speaks more than a thousand words. ;)

    However, I still don't understand why certain sites are 'Pre-Configured' in the first place. Was there/is there any benefit in having amazon.com Pre-Configured with all that protection in the first place...and is there any benefit in having the other sites Pre-Configured with all that protection?
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
    @ RCGuy

    I presumed being a SOL user you'ld know what/where Configure was etc ;) Ya do now :p
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,764
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Even the Free version has all those Pre-Configured sites and you can only add one more site but with the Free Full Facebook version you can add more! http://www.prevx.com/safeonline.asp & http://info.prevx.com/safehelp.asp

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  6. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    Someone try this: Untick 'Automatically download and apply updates', save the change, and then close the UI. Every now and then, open the UI and check to see if 'Enable enhanced rootkit detection' has unticked itself. I could repeat this on a Windows 7 64-bit system. :doubt: My settings were as follows...

    Installed with random filename
    Basic config
    Scan scheduler
    SafeOnline and Self Protection at default settings
    Heuristics at H/M/M
     
  7. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I can confirm this behavior.
     
  8. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    Thanks pabrate! I'm glad it wasn't just me.
     
  9. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Yesterday I just bought and installed Prevx 3.0 with the Safe Online - whatever that is - and didn't do anything at all to the settings - left them all to whatever their "default" settings are as I know nothing technical and dared not fiddle. And today all kinds of weird things are happening. It changed my display resolution. Go figure. It somehow started an unscheduled ESET Smart Security Suite 4.2 scan. Say what? I'm afraid I am chest deep in doo doo here. Innocent, naive, ignorant, trusting stupid little ole me. I believed the website when it said it was light-weight and unobtrustive and made to work alongside 99.9% of AV and security suites. Also, in the ESET forum I see many happy and satisfied thousands who use it. So why not me, right?

    I'm scared to death now and don't know how get control of my `puter back. Who knows what is going to happen next? Egad - I shudder to think of it now. I downloaded and installed it straight from the Prevx Home Site - http://www.prevx.com/ - just to make sure it was a safe and clean d/l and install.


    I certainly do not want to have to give it up and cancel it as it is so highly touted. I like the idea of the extra protection and we all NEED that. I don't have a virus or anything like that. Not unless Prevx gave me one :argh: which I very much doubt.

    Desperately + gratefully welcome any and all replies, assistance, guidance, suggestions, recommended configurations I should do and anything other words of wisdom by the great brilliant techie brains here.

    One thing though, I will need step by step help since I am technically-challenged. Sorry about that.

    Also an important question: Has anybody noticed that it has slowed down their `puter at all? A tiny bit? A little? Somewhat? Significantly? Need to know so that I can reduce the number of surprises I am afraid await me until I get this Prevx situation settled to play friendly with my ESET and O/S and whatever else I should or need to do.





    My O/S info is down below.
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    I haven't the slightest idea how Prevx could have changed your screen resolution or started an ESET scan... Prevx doesn't change anything within ESET and doesn't manipulate the screen in any way. It may be worth seeing if ESET blocked a Prevx component if your signatures are outdated but I haven't heard of any user having an issue like this.

    You mentioned that you then downloaded it straight from the homepage - could you let me know where you download it from before? We do not host our executables anywhere else besides our homepage so it's possible you downloaded a fake version of Prevx which was causing you problems.
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This issue is just aesthetic - the rootkit detection isn't actually being disabled despite this configuration oddity. Thanks for the report! :)
     
  12. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    You mentioned that you then downloaded it straight from the homepage - could you let me know where you download it from before? We do not host our executables anywhere else besides our homepage so it's possible you downloaded a fake version of Prevx which was causing you problems.

    (How do I put things in quotes please? Which icon in the bar above is for that?)

    Before? I have not done that. Sorry if I said something and mislead you.

    So far, the Prevx is still set at all the default settings it came with.

    Now I just found something else. It turned on my UAC in Windows which I've had shut off for eons. Omigod!:argh: I am on the verge of a nervous breakdown. I really need help here.

    Hoping and praying fervently for help and a resolution. Color me inconsolable and in a grave situation.:'(
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,764
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you tell us all of your security programs that you have running in realtime? And please send a Prevx scan log as stated in this post: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TIA,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
  14. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    The easiest way to quote someone when replying to them is to click on the quote button in the bottom right corner of every post.

    Sorry Mods for the OT, but this wasn't answered. ;)
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,764
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks Tony! ;) or use the [quote ] what you want in here [/quote ] tags that I have a space between the e]

    TH
     
  16. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Reply to Triple Helix re: Prevx "Bug" Reports

    I did a Complete Prevx 3.0 Scan and attached it to the address provided by the link you posted and already sent it off. Thank you kindly. Thanks very much to ALL OF YOU!!! :D

    If anybody else wants to view the log, please ask and I will post it here.

    Looks like I got a worm or 2 from Adobe Download Manager (whatever the heck that is) - Please Advise because they are still there. I did not tell Prevx to clean, delete, quarantine or do anything yet because that is what I assumed you wished of me.

    If I do have 2 worms, then how come ESET/Nod32 has not caught and quarantined them? This is a drop-dead very serious question.


    I pray it is soon as I cannot tolerate all the crazy things my `puter is doing. I am losing things too - like EMAIL and sub-folders in my EMAIL program. Can you imagine? :argh:

    So, I know you are busy but please hurry if at all possible and thank you very much.

    I never had an Adobe Download Manager before. Don't even know how I got this one. Do I need one? Me thinks not. I want to uninstall it with my Revo but will wait until you get back to me.

    If memory serves, very recently Secunia was all over the Internet screaming about major and mucho vulnerabilities with Adobe. I would do my Secunia PSI scans and it would always come out with 4 vulnerabilities with NO SOLUTIONS. All 4 were Adobe. Go figure.

    (I want to use the dog icon but I don't know what is represents, lol.)
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Reply to Triple Helix re: Prevx "Bug" Reports

     
  18. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Nope. No reply received here by ANYONE at all.

    Nada, zilch.

    Hopefully, it will be resent. I am in Dire Straights here.
     
  19. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've sent you a PM :)
     
  20. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Did all you suggested.

    Ran a Complete Scan and it came out clean. :thumb:

    Cross your fingers the weird stuff is over.

    I thank everyone in here for all your help. I am supremely grateful. Wilders has never left me down. The greatest collection of big hearts and the best minds in the world. Enough gushing. My last 2 questions unless something unexpected happens.

    1) Do I leave all the Prevx settings as is - see my O/S info. below. I have simple needs. Not a programmer, blogger, gamer. Just a `Net surfer and casual home user.

    2) What does that pixelpup icon mean? I'm dying to use it, LOL. Except I have no idea what it represents. Panting maybeo_O??

    Again, a very big Thank You.
     
  21. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, you can leave them at the defaults :)

    That I'm not sure about :D :D I imagine other members will know more... I suspect there is a story behind it as there is a forum member named PixelPup and an official forum dog :D
     
  22. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    Thanks for sharing that, however, that still hasn't answered my other concerns/questions:

    Although, I'm not sure if it's there, but I suppose that I could go to the Prevx site and find out more information about Pre-Configured protection. :)
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The pre-configured websites receive full protection even in just the trial version, so, users can receive protection while shopping on Amazon or entering their details into Cleverbridge (Prevx's payment provider) or if on a government website. We chose this handful of websites to allow users to see what SafeOnline can provide them, and we also allow one additional website to be manually configured.

    Once on the paid version, however, the pre-configured websites don't add any additional protection over the default HTTPS* checking.

    Hope that helps! :)
     
  24. lorenzet

    lorenzet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    accentuation is not working with activated prevx
    keyboard USA international

    Prevx 3.0.5.220
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,764
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.