Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.209

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by PrevxHelp, Oct 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all
    We've finished another round of minor changes for Prevx 3.0/SafeOnline.

    You can download it in about one hour from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta for 32bit/64bit new installations or from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta64 for a manual upgrade on a 64bit installation.

    Below is the changelog over the previous live build, .206:

    - (P30) Improved support for user switching
    - (P3E) Added Enterprise cache support
    - (PSO) Improved antikeylogging on foreign keyboards
    - (P30) Improved self protection

    Please let me know if you have any questions! Thanks for the testing :thumb:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 7, 2010
  2. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    Good job! Two major improvements (improved self-protection and improved keylogging protection).
     
  3. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    So we're now up to the Radio Luxemberg version, the Great 208 ;) Well it used to be, sort of :D

    More (P30) Improved self protection = :thumb: & i know why ;)

    :thumb:
     
  4. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    No installation issues here & a scan ran without incident.
     
  5. 1Jnodder

    1Jnodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    All is well here so far. I installed a few hours ago and have been switching users and putting it to sleep, did an adobe reader update. No problems so far and Iwas having big problems with the other version hope STV0726 has tried it too. Thanks, Jeff
     
  6. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    I have had occasional problems with user switching in the past. Though these have been much rarer in recent builds (so I think something was fixed prior to this new build). I'm looking forward to trying this new build at the weekend -- anyone want to come to a user switching party :D

    Has this issue gone for ever now ..?
     
  7. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    I'm using the version of Facebook, I wonder if I can install this BETA without losing the promotion?
     
  8. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    No, beta will overwrite the facebook version and as a result you will lose the full SafeOnline.
     
  9. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    Thanks! :thumb:
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    It should be, but I can't ever say "for ever" :D Windows 8, I'm sure, will break things :D
     
  11. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,197
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    I was just finishing testing .208 (across all User scenarios add/delete user, switch user, log on/off etc...and to be honest happy with what I was seeing),
    when PSOL auto-updated to build .209. Don't think there's any problem, but
    might do a fresh install and test again. Anyhow, a few days ago I installed Tiny Watcher (with thanks to bellgamin for his insight and recommendations for Tw)
    and on returning into admin mode, Tw reported all changes (see ss) and, on
    reboot one more...dllhost.exe. I chose to select "confirm" for all this and presume it's ok(?) and as one would expect to see.
    I found build .208 to be light, strong and stable, which is what we know and like
    about Prevx. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. volvic

    volvic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    I notice the following issues everytime that prevx updates on my pc:

    1. ad muncher stops loading (even though it is set to run)
    2. my trackpad which I have disbled enables itself even though the setting in the win 7 control panel says it is disabled

    please help...........
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    Yes - those are fine :)
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    You may want to try lowering protection to High from Maximum as this should improve compatibility between some applications. Let me know your results!
     
  15. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.208

    In my experience, the custom SafeOnline GUI is gone, but the license for SafeOnline functionality is imported.
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As Dermot7 said the Beta is now 3.0.5.209 and we will have to wait for a change log from PrevxHelp!

    TH
     
  17. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,197
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thanks TH! :) How was .208 running for you? Strong and stable? Because I can
    see Prevx getting stronger all the time, yet remaining light. :)
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    .209 is running great as always! :thumb:

    TH
     
  19. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I wonder what the changes were between .208 and .209. :)
     
  20. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Probably nothing serious when it wasn't worth for Joe to open another thread. I guess some minor changes. I have noticed that Joe does do this but he will surely shed more light on.
     
  21. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :) It was just a minor rebuild - .209 is now the live public release which will be out for updates in the coming days!
     
  22. 1Jnodder

    1Jnodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    I installed today from the first link above on my 64 bit windows 7 computer and when I log off and log on the other user I get no Previx start up in the notification section, I go to the start menu click all programs click previx 3.0 and get this: Previx after switching users.PNG
    Then I click the Enable Monitoring and I have to enter my administrator pass word again and then I finally get the splash screen. Is this normal?
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    How soon after you logged in did you click to open the process? It could take up to two minutes to load the user process portions of Prevx when first booting up - if you waited longer than this and it happens again, it might be worth having a remote support session to diagnose it closer :)
     
  24. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Yeah see that's what happened to me.
     
  25. microbial

    microbial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    UK
    User agent switching fixed for me

    :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.