Prevent windows search from searching within tib files?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bledd, Apr 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bledd

    bledd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    I don't usually install acronis, and just use the boot disc, but when it is installed windows searches through the tib archives when you do a file search

    can you add the option to acronis to not browse tib files automatically (ie, make them only readable when they're mounted)
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello bledd,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please be aware that currently there is no such option available in Acronis True Image.

    If you want us to change the behavior of Acronis True Image in any way or add some new features to this product, please feel free to post any of your suggestions in Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Some consider it a plus that a search will look for files within zip, tib and other archives. But it can be a pain and really slows things down. It's especially a pita if you are searching for a tib file and Search spends laods of time searching within tib files -- a place where a tib file is least likely to be.

    iirc, Vista allows file types to be excluded but XP does not; in XP it has to be handled by the way the file type is set up by the program in question. For example, Win zip had a way to exclude zips from being searched. ATI doesn't have anything like that.
     
  4. bledd

    bledd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    i might just remove the filetype from the registry instead
     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Create your images into an Acronis Secure zone. This is not accessable to Windows and is not searched by Explorer.
    The .tib files have to be mounted one at a time and then they can be searched by Explorer.

    Xpilot
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.