Pre-purchase question

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by fredkh, Sep 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fredkh

    fredkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Well, I am new to these forums and I just had a couple of questions before I purchase the product.
    I am planning to purchase the 3-license pack. 1 of the 3 licenses will be installed on a machine that's running 3 Operating Systems. The question is: Can I install the program on all 3 OS's (on ONE computer) using only one of the licenses?

    Second question: when purchasing the program via the download method, can I pick which would be 64-bit 32-bit or does that not matter?

    Thanks in advance,

    Fred
     
  2. no_idea

    no_idea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    If this is a triple boot setup where technically only one installation of the ESET product will run at any given time, you're covered :)

    As long as your license is valid, you are free to download and use whatever version of the licensed product your heart desires.
    Presently you have the choice of 3 major versions (2.7, 3.0 and 4.0) in 32 and 64bit versions.
     
  3. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello Fred,

    Once you purchase the program, you can choose to use the 32-bit or 64-bit version and you can choose whether you want to use v3 or v4 of ESET Smart Security. I am not sure about the answer to your first question, so I'm not going to say anything because I don't want to give you any possibly false information. You should probably ask an ESET staff member that question before purchasing.

    Regards,

    Mark.
     
  4. fredkh

    fredkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Thank you both.

    Yes, this is a triple boot set-up. And only one instance of the program will be running at a time.

    Just curious, if the the newest version is V4, why would someone want to download the V3 version?

    Thanks again,

    Fred
     
  5. no_idea

    no_idea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    For compatibility reasons someone might even want to use the 2.7 version.
    Versions 3 and above are no longer provided for "legacy" operating systems.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.